Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 100 books. 23% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


61 / 165 books. 37% done!
Monday, August 03, 2015

The 100 Fails to Live Up to the Promise of Its Oh-So-Appealing Premise

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

If the juvenile delinquents locked in the Colony's prisons felt expendable before, now they know just how disposable the government considers their lives.  One hundred of the incarcerated teens are being sent on a mission that can only be described as suicidal.  The kids' objective is to recolonize Earth, a planet long ago ravaged by nuclear war.  Abandoned hundreds of years ago, the place may be habitable again.  Or not.  Breathing its radioactive air is a risk no one wants to take.  Who better to embark on an exploratory expedition, then, than one hundred young criminals who are already slated to die?  Either they'll be killed on Earth or they'll succeed in repopulating the planet, creating a new home for the Colonists whose ancestors left it for the safety of space several centuries ago.  

Among the teens are Clarke Griffin, a 17-year-old apprentice medic who was arrested for treason.  Her real crime is much, much worse.  Wells Jaha, the chancellor's son, purposely got himself incarcerated so as to guarantee him a trip to Earth with Clarke, the girl he loves.  Only she refuses to forgive him.  Not a convict, Bellamy Blake breaks into the transport ship to protect his younger sister.  The only set of siblings left in the world, the Blakes refuse to be separated, even if it means dying together.  Glass Sorenson managed to get herself off the doomed ship, only to find the world she thought was secure to be anything but.  

Somehow, the teen convicts must learn to survive in a strange land.  Each hiding their own secrets, they have to figure out how to work together to eke out some kind of civilized existence in a savage wilderness.  With constant danger from without and within, they may perish before the week is out.  If they don't, they may just save their world, becoming the most unlikely of heroes.  What will become of The 100?  Will they unite to build a new future for themselves and the other Colonists?  Or will they die before they even have a chance to start? 

The LOST-ish premise behind The 100, a debut YA sci-fi novel by Kass Morgan, intrigued me from the moment I heard about it.  Poised to enjoy an adventure full of danger, suspense, and drama, I began to read it.  The more into the book I got, though, the more my enthusiasm waned.  Why?  Because while the novel had so very much potential, what it didn't have was a well-developed story world; complex characters; a tight plot structure; and enough conflict to keep things interesting.  I was expecting a taut, riveting survival tale, not a melodramatic, but anti-climatic, soap opera.  Needless to say, The 100 turned into a huge disappointment for me.  Part of my dismay, I'm sure, has to do with the book being way over-hyped.  Still, I had hoped for a better story, one that at least lived up to the promise of its oh-so-appealing premise.  Didn't happen here.  Bummer, that.

(Readalikes:  Premise reminded me of the t.v. show LOST as well as the Gone series by Michael Grant [Gone; Hunger; Lies; Plague; Fear; Light])  

Grade:


If this were a movie (and it is—a t.v. series, anyway), it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence, sexual innuendo, and intense situations

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive