Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2023 Bookish Books Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 30 books. 13% done!

2023 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:

- Australia (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)

My Progress:


14 / 51 states. 27% done!

2023 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2023 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


17 / 50 books. 34% done!

Booklist Queen's 2023 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 52 books. 37% done!

2023 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


22 / 52 books. 42% done!

2023 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2023 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


8 / 40 books. 20% done!

2023 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 25 books. 16% done!

2023 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Book Bingo Reading Challenge


13 / 25 books. 52% done!

2023 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 109 books. 22% done!

Children's Book Reading Challenge...For Adults!

Wednesday, December 04, 2019

Sweet, Entertaining Story Urges Kids to Be Themselves (Even If They're a Little Different From Others)

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

"It's a powerful thing to rescue something.  It changes both of you."

Emma's nerves are running rampant on the night before she's to start public school after years of being taught at home.  Needing a distraction, she goes with her game warden father on a call about a wild rabbit.  Surprised to find a pet bunny, not a feral animal, Emma begs her dad to let her bring it home.  Reluctantly, he agrees.  But only until the shelter opens the next morning.

Delighted by her foster pet, Emma nonetheless longs to find a real best friend.  She's never had one before and she desperately wants to know what it's like.  When her efforts yield only a strange boy with special needs, she doesn't know what to do.  Her bunny, Lapi, provides emotional support, but when his presence at her home is threatened, Emma fears she'll lose the only friend she has.  Can she figure out how to keep Lapi and find a human BFF?  Or is she stuck with no pet and only the weird kid for company at school?

I've enjoyed all of Cynthia Lord's middle-grade novels.  Her newest, Because of the Rabbit, is no exception.  It's not my favorite of the author's books, but it's still a sweet, upbeat story about being yourself (even if you're a little different from other people), telling the truth, and being a good friend.  Because of the Rabbit is an easy, entertaining read that will appeal to animal lovers as well as kids who might be having trouble with their own friendships.  I enjoyed it.

(Readalikes:  A little like Rules by Cynthia Lord)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  Another library find fine
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
All the Dangerous Things by Stacy Willingham

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The War Librarian by Addison Armstrong



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive