Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


7 / 25 books. 28% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Thursday, February 07, 2013

The Ambassador's Daughter Another Absorbing, Atmospheric Thriller From Jenoff (With a Giveaway!)


(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Paris, 1919—Even as the world's leaders gather to discuss how to proceed after the Great War, Margot Rosenthal's growing weary of the city.  Brought to France by her father—a German Oxford professor who's been granted diplomatic status in order to attend the historic conference—Margot is bored and lonely.  Still, the 20-year-old's not in any great hurry to return to her home country.  The moment she steps onto German soil, she'll have to face her fiancee, Stefan.  Although he's still recovering from serious battle wounds, Stefan wants to proceed with their marriage as soon as possible.  He's waited four years to make Margot his bride; he refuses to delay it any longer.  Margot knows it's cruel to prolong their separation, but she hardly knows Stefan anymore.  Does she love him?  She's not sure.  Can she marry him, even if it's only out of guilt and pity?  She knows she must.  Just not yet.

When Margot meets Georg Richwalder, a handsome German naval officer, she can't deny the attraction she feels toward him.  Offering to help him translate important documents for the conference is a way to not only get closer to him, but also to alleviate her boredom and do something valuable for a change.  Working so closely with Captain Richwalder puts her in an awkward position—and not just because she's engaged to another man.  Paris is filled with would-be saboteurs who would do anything to get their hands on the papers to which Margot has access.  Even threaten her father.  

Torn between her feelings for Georg, her concern for her father and her anxiety over her impending marriage, Margot must decide what—and who—she really wants.  How much is she willing to sacrifice in order to chase her own dreams?  In days as tumultuous as these, is it smarter to play things safe?  Or is it the perfect time to take a few risks?  

The Ambassador's Daughter, a new historical novel by Pam Jenoff, is a fast-paced romantic thriller set in the tension-filled days that bookended the signing of the Treaty of Versailles.  Although it gets predictable in places, the novel's plot moves fast enough to keep the story interesting.  My biggest beef with the book is actually Margot.  While I felt some sympathy for her, I mostly thought she was too selfish to be truly likable.  Plus, she's a little slow on the uptake.  Those irritants notwithstanding, I enjoyed this atmospheric and suspenseful tale.   

(Readalikes:  The publisher compares The Ambassador's Daughter to Anna Karenina.  I haven't read the Tolstoy classic, so I don't know how apt that comparison is.  The story reminded me a little of other Jenoff novels, especially The Kommandant's Girl and The Diplomat's Wife

Grade:  B-

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  PG-13 for mild language (no F-bombs), violence and sexual innuendo/content

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of The Ambassador's Daughter from the generous folks at Harlequin/MIRA via those at Book Trib, for whom this review was written.  Thank you!

----------

Thanks to the good people at Harlequin/MIRA, I have one copy of The Ambassador's Daughter to give away.  If you're interested in entering the drawing, please leave a comment on this post.  Be sure to include your email address so I can contact you if you win.  The giveaway is open to readers with U.S. and Canadian addresses only.  I will choose a winner (well, Random.org will) on February 20th.  Good luck! 
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive