Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (4)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (11)
Italy (1)
Nepal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)

My Progress:


27 / 51 states. 53% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


18 / 50 books. 36% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 25 books. 76% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 53 books. 75% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 50 books. 58% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


37 / 52 books. 71% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


32 / 50 books. 64% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Monday, December 17, 2018

Camron Wright Christmas Novel Everything a Holiday Story Should Be

(Image from Barnes & Noble)


Although Carter Cross, a 28-year-old insurance claims adjuster, has a stable job, he longs for something more fulfilling.  More creative.  In the meantime, he uses his skills to take artsy photos of damaged cars and embellish the accident reports he spends most of his time writing.  When Carter gets fired for taking his artistic license a little too far, he's not sure what to do with himself.  Although he detests Christmas with all its ridiculous commercialism, his big inspiration comes from a display of cheesy holiday books at the ReadMore Cafe.  How hard can it be for an unemployed creative to pen a sappy best-selling Christmas book?
Abby McBride loves everything about the holidays.  She sets up her Christmas displays at the ReadMore Cafe earlier and earlier every year, just to revel in the festive season.  A car accident puts a damper in her enthusiasm, especially when her insurance company rejects her claim for her totaled vehicle.  Angry, she tracks down the claims adjuster in charge of her case to give him a piece of her mind.  Soon, she finds herself making a deal with Carter—she'll help him with his book if he'll use his contacts at the insurance company to get her a fair shake.  

Despite the hardships they are experiencing this season, both Carter and Abby find themselves in an unexpected friendship that sometimes feels like more.  Can the two find joy in their worlds at Christmastime, even with such opposing views on the holiday?  Or are they destined to have a blue, blue Christmas this year?

Christmas by Accident by Camron Wright is a quick, cute novel that's everything a holiday story should be—warm, upbeat, funny, and sweet.  Carter's a bit of an odd duck, not quite adorkable, but he makes for a interesting narrator.  There's not a lot of depth to Abby, but she's likeable.  Although the characters don't really develop much in this tale and the plot isn't anything new or original, overall Christmas by Accident is a fun read that will definitely get you in the holiday spirit.  

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of Christmas by Accident from the generous folks at Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive