Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


7 / 25 books. 28% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Monday, February 23, 2015

Mesmerizing Genre-Twister Difficult to Describe, Even Harder to Put Down

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Some books are so hard for me to describe that I don't even bother trying to write my own plot summary.  Such is the case with Laura Ruby's newest YA novel, Bone Gap (available March 3, 2015).  I don't have the words to tell you just how original and mesmerizing it is.  So, I'm just going to whet your appetite with the book's official back cover copy:
Bone Gap  is the story of Roza, a beautiful girl who is taken from a quiet midwestern town and imprisoned by a mysterious man, and Finn, the only witness, who cannot forgive himself for being unable to identify her kidnapper. As we follow them through their melancholy pasts, their terrifying presents, their uncertain futures, acclaimed author Laura Ruby weaves a heartbreaking tale of love and loss, magic and mystery, regret and forgiveness—a story about how the face the world sees is never the sum of who we are.
While the text doesn't seem to say a whole lot, it actually does a nice, succinct job of outlining the story without giving too much away.  I don't want to be spoiler-y either, so I'm just going to say that I loved this compelling, genre-twisting mystery.  The plot kept me guessing and the ending stunned me with its never-seen-it-done-before brilliance.  Bone Gap may be difficult to describe, but reading it was no trouble at all.  I sped through the book as fast as I could, hardly daring to breathe for fear I'd miss something.  Putting it down?  That was the hard part! 

(Readalikes:  I can't think of anything, can you?)

Grade:



If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language (a few F-bombs, plus milder invectives), violence, and depictions of underage drinking/partying

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of Bone Gap from the generous folks at HarperCollins via those at Edelweiss.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive