Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 100 books. 22% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


60 / 165 books. 36% done!
Friday, September 09, 2016

Sweet, Entertaining Romance Another Charmer From Jennifer Moore (With a Giveaway!)

(Image from Amazon)

Although Diana Snow is an orphan of little consequence, her position as a chaperone to a wealthy young lady ensures she's exposed regularly to the finest of London society.  And there's nothing she abhors more than exposure.  She keeps her real emotions, her true self, concealed behind a polite mask at all times.  No matter how much the fashionable women sneer at her, Diana refuses to let their mockery penetrate her hard shell.  Her only desire is to do her job and do it well.  

While accompanying her charge on a visit to Greece, Diana has a chance encounter with a handsome stranger.  She's shocked at the attention Alexandros Metaxas pays her.  It's almost as if he's ... interested.  The connection she feels to the mysterious stranger makes her uncharacteristically bold.  When she spies Alexandros creeping around Corfu in the dark, she follows him.  Her foolish act has devastating results.  Captured by the most notorious pirates in the Mediterranean, she's flung into a dangerous adventure in a place ruled by conflict and curses.  

As Diana struggles to find her place in her colorful prison, she draws ever closer to handsome Alexandros.  Can their romance bloom in such an unlikely situation?  Will the tentative couple survive long enough to find out?  When push comes to shove, will Diana have the courage to break out of her shell and decide where—and with whom—she truly belongs?

Like Jennifer Moore's other Regency romances, her newest stars a brave heroine finding adventure and love in a foreign land.  Neither Diana nor Alexandros are terribly complex characters, but their journey toward Happily Ever After is entertaining nonetheless.  Both are sympathetic, likable, and brave—it's impossible not to root for their success.  Although the action sags a bit in the middle of A Place for Miss Snow, there's enough going on to keep the reader interested.  The novel is hardly a page turner, but it's a sweet, charming story that's clean and compelling enough.  I've enjoyed all the books I've read by Jennifer Moore; this one is no exception.  If you like romantic Regency love stories infused with interesting historical tidbits, you'll find plenty to love about A Place for Miss Snow.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of Jennifer Moore's other novels, including Lady Emma's Campaign; Lady Helen Finds Her Song; and Simply Anna)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of A Place for Miss Snow from the generous folks at Covenant in exchange for my participation in the book's blog tour.  Thank you!

--

If you'd like more opinions on A Place for Miss Snow, be sure to check out all the stops on the book's blog tour:


If you're interested in entering to win a copy of A Place for Miss Snow as well as a $25 gift certificate to Amazon, fill out the Rafflecopter below.  Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive