Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


13 / 30 books. 43% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware (1)
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (2)
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico (1)
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia (1)
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (2)
- Canada (2)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


35 / 51 states. 69% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 50 books. 58% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 40 books. 73% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


11 / 25 books. 44% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


17 / 26.2 miles (2nd lap). 65% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


30 / 100 books. 30% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


74 / 104 books. 71% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


84 / 165 books. 51% done!
Thursday, January 08, 2015

A Long Walk to Water Both Harrowing and Hopeful

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

The Lost Boys of Sudan were often in the news during the civil war that took place in that region from about 1983 to 2002.  Their plights captured the attention of Americans (like myself) who simply could not imagine how these children managed to survive so much violence and bloodshed in such a parched, unforgiving landscape.  After hearing the story of Salva Dut, a real Lost Boy, Newbery Medalist Linda Sue Park decided his experience needed to be shared.  A Long Walk to Water is the memorable, based-on-a-true-story result.   

The book focuses on two 11-year-old children, whose tales take place almost 20 years apart—Salva and a fictional girl named Nya.  Nya (in 1985) is a poor girl from the Nuer tribe, whose household chores involve fetching water for her family from a faraway pond.  Every day, she walks to the source, fills a container with the life-sustaining liquid, and trudges back home balancing the full bucket on her head.  She empties it into jars, then repeats the journey.  Nya spends all day, every day, walking to and from the pond.  Salva (in 2008) is the son of a village judge.  When he's not in school, he helps his father take care of the family's cattle.  He's a member of the Dinka tribe, enemies of the Nuers.  When rebel fighters burst into his school with guns, Salva hides in the bush.  Thus begins his long, terrifying march through Sudan, Ethiopia, and eventually to safety at a refugee camp in Kenya.

A Long Walk to Water is a slim, spare novel.  Nonetheless, it tells a vivid, moving tale that manages to be both harrowing and hopeful.  Salva's courage and resilience are testaments to the power of human beings to overcome even the most desperate of circumstances.  The fact that he gives back so powerfully (see Water for South Sudan: Drilling Holes, Transforming Lives) proves that love really does conquer all.  His is a powerful, important story that will open eyes and touch hearts.  I highly recommend the read.

(Readalikes:  Reminded me of Home of the Brave by Katherine Applegate)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and intense situations

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of A Long Walk to Water with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.  
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Homecoming by Kate Morton

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Good Neighbor by Maxwell King



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive