Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont (1)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (7)
- France (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


18 / 51 states. 35% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


20 / 50 books. 40% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 50 books. 76% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 52 books. 63% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 40 books. 57% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


24 / 26.2 miles. 92% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


19 / 100 books. 19% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


49 / 104 books. 47% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


44 / 165 books. 27% done!
Thursday, March 01, 2018

MG Squirrel Girl Novel A Fun, Empowering Read for Kids

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Starting at a new school is always tough.  Especially when you've got something to hide.  Although 14-year-old Doreen Green prides herself on being friendly and upfront, she also knows she must keep a big part of her identity a secret.  No one can know about the squirrel tail tucked inside her pants or the fact that she's endowed with special, squirrel-like abilities.  She may look like a normal teen (minus the tail, of course), but her extra-sharp hearing, climbing prowess, ability to talk to woodland creatures, and quick reflexes are not generally found in your average adolescent. 
Still, the thing Doreen most wants is a friend.  A human one.  Her quest, unfortunately, is not going well.  No one wants to be her pal, but after Doreen-in-disguise fights off some troublemakers in her neighborhood, everyone longs to get close to Squirrel Girl.  Doreen has never thought of herself as a superhero, but maybe she can be like her idols who fight bad guys and bask in the adoration of their fans.  When a nefarious villain starts coming after her, though, the risk suddenly seems too great.  Can she keep up the superhero gig?  Or should she give up and go back to being just a regular (ish) kid?


I've never been into comics/superheroes, so when I heard about Shannon and Dean Hale's new book starring Squirrel Girl, I thought the character was their invention.  Not so.  Apparently, she's been around since the early 90s.  Who knew?  In the Hales' version, Squirrel Meets World, the heroine is a teenage girl trying to navigate life in a new town.  Although she acts more 12 than 14, her enthusiasm for life and longing for friendship make her a sympathetic and endearing narrator.  I found her annoying at times, true, but I think young readers will appreciate her more.  And it is a good book to hand to middle graders—it's clean, upbeat, and bursting with girl power.  Adults may find it too silly (I did), but for its target audience, Squirrel Meets World should make for a fun, empowering read.   

(Readalikes:  It actually reminds me a lot of the Hales' Princess in Black series)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl: Squirrel Meets World from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Swimming in a Sea of Stars by Julie Wright

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Tobacco Wives by Adele Myer



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive