Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


5 / 30 books. 17% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (1)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- England (3)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


9 / 51 states. 18% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


6 / 50 books. 12% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


12 / 50 books. 24% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 52 books. 38% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


2 / 25 books. 8% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


11 / 26.2 miles. 42% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


11 / 100 books. 11% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 104 books. 23% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 52 books. 44% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 165 books. 14% done!
Monday, May 27, 2019

Intriguing Crime Series Offers More to Be Explored

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

When Dr. Emma Sweeney happens across the dead body of a university student while crossing campus after hours, she calls the first person who comes to mind—her boyfriend, Detective Sergeant Cormac Reilly.  As persona non grata at the Galway police station, Cormac never would have been assigned to the apparent hit-and-run.  Especially considering his relationship with the star witness.  Things get even dicier when a student i.d. in the deceased's pocket identifies the victim as Carline Darcy, granddaughter of the billionaire owner of Darcy Therapeutics, the company which funds Emma's research.  Suddenly, the "accident" is looking a lot like murder, with Emma quickly becoming the biggest suspect.  And, somehow, Cormac is the one in charge of the investigation.

With the case getting increasingly complicated, Cormac is torn between his loyalty to his girlfriend and the evidence mounting against her.  Determined to solve a murder and finally prove himself to his colleagues at the same time, Cormac will have to risk everything he has, both personal and professional, to find the truth.

While I didn't enjoy the second installment in Dervla McTiernan's Cormac Reilly series quite as much as the first, I still really liked The Scholar.  Like its predecessor, the novel is a compelling, exciting page-turner that I had a hard time putting down.  I especially like the characters McTiernan has created, all of whom are realistically complicated and flawed.  Although the story people in this series have already come alive enough for me to care about what happens to them, I still feel like each of them has hidden depths to be explored.  That's one of the reasons I'm so excited to see where this series goes.  McTiernan has impressed me so far.  I'm a big Cormac Reilly fan; I can't wait to see what happens to him next!

(Readalikes:  The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan; also reminds me of crime novels by Tana French, Sharon Bolton, and Jane Casey)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language, violence, blood/gore, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of The Scholar from the generous folks at Penguin via those at Edelweiss.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive