Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


12 / 30 books. 40% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


48 / 50 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


27 / 40 books. 68% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


10 / 25 books. 40% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 26.2 miles. 46% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


26 / 100 books. 26% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


64 / 104 books. 62% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


43 / 52 books. 83% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


69 / 165 books. 42% done!
Monday, June 28, 2021

What Is...A Wonderful Memoir By the One and Only Alex Trebek

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

The death of Alex Trebek—long-time host of the trivia game show Jeopardy!—saddened all of his fans, including me.  I'm not the kind of person who cares much about celebrity gossip or Hollywood tell-alls, but I have wanted to read Trebek's memoir, The Answer Is..., ever since I first heard about it.  Since I'm always looking for entertaining audiobooks, I decided to listen to this one.  I'm glad I did, as it made me smile to listen to Trebek's antics told in his own voice, which is so familiar and soothing.  While the majority of the book is narrated by Ken Jennings, Jeopardy! champion and Trebek's successor on the show, I most enjoyed the portions voiced by Trebek himself.

Because Trebek has always projected such a serious, straight-laced persona on television and because he was dying as he wrote The Answer Is..., I expected the book to be a somber text full of deep, philosophical reflections on life and death.  It's not.  With an "It's all good" vibe throughout, the memoir is actually quite light and funny.  Told in short vignettes taken from Trebek's career and personal life, it's a fast read (or listen, in my case) full of humor and simple, down-home wisdom like these nuggets:
  • If you're not ten minutes early, you're late.
  • If it's a good idea, it doesn't matter if it came from the CEO of a company or the guy who mops the floors.
  • You're never as important as you think you are—just ask the queen!
  • A good education and a kind heart will serve you well throughout your life.
  • Always give back, even if your contribution is small.  (Note:  Trebek was a philanthropist who contributed to many charities.  All profits from the sale of The Answer Is..., in fact, will go to charity.)
Like Trebek himself, his book is charming, entertaining, and uplifting.  Although it's lightly peppered with F-bombs (Surprise!  Trebek had a bit of a potty mouth), it's a mostly clean read that exudes the television host's "warm bath outlook on life."  Hearing the author talk about his impending death gives The Answer Is... a poignant aspect as well.  Although I did shed a tear or two, mostly I smiled and laughed my way through this enjoyable listen.  If you're a Jeopardy! fan (or even if you're not), I highly recommend this book, especially in audio format.

(Readalikes:  I'm not a celebrity memoir person, so I'm not sure what to compare this one to.  Suggestions?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a handful of F-bombs, plus milder expletives)

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive