Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


8 / 30 books. 27% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (1)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (4)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


12 / 51 states. 24% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 50 books. 18% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


14 / 50 books. 28% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


28 / 50 books. 56% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 52 books. 46% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 40 books. 50% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


14 / 26.2 miles. 53% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


13 / 100 books. 13% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


30 / 104 books. 29% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


28 / 52 books. 54% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


28 / 165 books. 17% done!
Friday, January 18, 2019

Dark, Disturbing Psychological Thriller Impossible to Put Down

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

After the traumatic events that shattered her life fourteen years ago, Susanna Fenton took her baby daughter and ran—away from her husband, away from the media, away from her neighbors' judging eyes and wagging tongues.  Changing her name, her city, and her occupation, she's desperate to remain anonymous.  After 14 years, it appears she's been successful.  Until a young man walks into her counseling office and starts asking unsettling questions about Susanna's past.  Who is Adam Geraghty?  What does he want?  And, most important of all, what has he done to her teenage daughter?

The Liar's Room by Simon Lelic has a simple, yet chilling premise.  Its format—basically an intense therapy session that takes place over five hours—is also minimalistic.  However, these elements, combined with a small cast of complex characters and the slow unraveling of their shocking secrets, make for a tense, unputdownable psychological thriller.  I read this one in a day because I could not stop reading.  The novel is that intense.  While the story completely engrossed me, I didn't end up loving it.  It's definitely mesmerizing, but The Liar's Room is also a sad, depressing story that's as disturbing as it is memorable.  Overall, then, I liked it but didn't love it.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I'm not sure to what to compare The Liar's Room.  Any ideas?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language, violence, depictions of illegal drug use, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of The Liar's Room from the generous folks at Penguin Random House in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive