Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 100 books. 22% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


60 / 165 books. 36% done!
Wednesday, August 26, 2020

Historical Based-On-A-True-Story Mystery a Delightful Romp

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

In 1914, a period when women are most valued for their femininity and domestic skills, 35-year-old Constance Kopp sticks out like a proverbial sore thumb.  Towering over most men, she's a substantial lady who isn't afraid to declare her desire never to marry or have children.  She's (mostly) content to live out her life on her family's remote New Jersey farm with her two sisters, Norma and Fleurette.  Mostly, people let the eccentric Kopps be, which is how Constance prefers things.

While in the city one day, the sisters' buggy is almost run down by a reckless driver.  When Constance confronts their assailant, she comes face-to-face with an indignant and powerful factory owner who's none too happy about being contradicted by a woman.  The conflict begins a dangerous battle between the Kopps and the owner's goons.  When Constance is recruited to help the police department take down the gang, things get even uglier for the Kopps.  Constance soon finds herself having to defend herself, her sisters, and their property all while confronting the secrets of her past and facing an unknown future.

Girl Waits With Gun by Amy Stewart is the first in a mystery series starring Constance Kopp, a real woman who became one of the first female police officers in the U.S.  Not surprisingly, she's an interesting heroine, who's likable and easy to root for.  A supporting cast of quirky characters adds humor to this based-on-a-true-story tale.  As for the plot, it might move a little slowly for some readers.  The pacing worked just fine for me—in fact, I found the story both exciting and entertaining.  In addition to being an enjoyable read, Girl Waits With Gun is also a clean one.  It touches on some sensitive subjects, but it does so in a tasteful way that's not graphic or lurid.  I appreciated this PG-rated mystery for that as well as for all the reasons I listed above.  I'll definitely be reading more in this fun series.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of the Maisie Dobbs mystery series by Jacqueline Winspear)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and references to disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive