Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 100 books. 23% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


61 / 165 books. 37% done!
Monday, July 22, 2019

Exciting Action/Adventure Storm Novel Perfect for Fans of I Survived Series

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Tropical storms are just a part of life in Puerto Rico, so Alejo isn't really worried about Valerie, the latest one to blow in.  The 12-year-old is helping at the fancy seaside resort where his uncle works as the groundskeeper when the wind and rain really start to pick up.  Before he knows it, Valerie has been upgraded to a mega storm and the whole area is under evacuation orders.  With his uncle off on an errand, Alejo is stuck at the resort watching in horror as his world descends into chaos around him.  Although he knows it's smarter to hunker down in the hotel until help arrives, Alejo can't stand the thought of Padrino Nando—his aging uncle and guardian—out in the storm alone.  Against his better judgment, Alejo ventures out into the one they're calling la tormenta del siglo, the storm of the century ...

In New Orleans, Emily's not too concerned about Valerie either.  She's too busy trying to get the attention of her distracted mother, whose only focus has been on Emily's cancer-ridden brother.  When a little sniffling gets her kicked out of her germ-free house, Emily decides to run away to an island in the middle of Audobon Park.  Hiding out in her calm, secret fortress, she doesn't notice the storm brewing all around her.  By the time she realizes what's happening, it's too late ... like Alejo, she's stuck.  New Orleans is being evacuated around her and Emily has nowhere to go.

As the fates of two storm-tossed kids collide, Alejo and Emily experience the most terrifying, deadly adventure of their lives ... 

Storm Blown, an exciting middle-grade action/adventure novel by Nick Courage, is sure to win over even reluctant readers.  It's an adrenaline-fueled survival story starring two brave kids caught in a chaotic situation that grows crazier by the second.  Readers young and old won't be able to look away!  Courage throws in interesting storm facts that heighten the tale's suspense without bogging it down with unnecessary details.  Hand this one to fans of the I Survived series and other action-packed survival stories.  They won't be disappointed by this engaging, pulse-pounding read.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of the I Survived series by Lauren Tarshis, Ninth Ward by Jewell Parker Rhodes, and Upside Down in the Middle of Nowhere by Julie T. Lamana)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence, scary situations, and scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of Storm Blown from the generous folks at Random House Children's.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive