Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 100 books. 21% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


59 / 165 books. 36% done!
Wednesday, November 01, 2017

Regency Romance + Christmas Setting = Warm, Charming Combination

(Image from Deseret Book)

http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/p/lds-authors.htmlPeanut butter and jelly.  Cookies and milk.  Hot chocolate and marshmallows.  Some things just go together, you know?  I'm fairly new to Regency romance books, so I've never really considered what a sweet combination could result from pairing the genre with magical holiday settings.  If Christmas Grace, a collection of Regency love stories by various authors, is any indication, I'd call the mixture a very pleasant one indeed. 
Christmas Grace, a new collection of holiday tales by beloved LDS romance writers, includes four selections:

"Let Nothing You Dismay" by Jennifer Moore tells the story of Ben Talbot and Camilla "Millie" Prince, childhood sweethearts whose elopement ends with a tragic accident.  Reunited after eight years with no contact, the former fiancés have a second chance at love.  Are they brave enough to take it?

"Christmas at Canterwood" by Krista Lynne Jensen stars Julia Seaton, a governess who's taxed with keeping up the spirits of the children in her care while their parents are away from home at Christmastime.  When the handsome but too-serious vicar gets roped into Julia's plan to distract the kids, unexpected sparks start to fly. 

"Winter Angel" by Anita Stansfield concerns Mariah Pritchard, the 22-year-old daughter of a London baker.  When she encounters a poor, beaten man during her rounds of distributing bread to the homeless, she's surprised to discover he's a gentleman in disguise.  She's even more shocked by her heart's reaction to the down-on-his-luck stranger.

"Christmas Grace" by Chalon Linton begins with a carriage accident that brings a young widow into the care of a kind stranger.  When a storm strands Grace Hershaw at the estate of handsome, cheerful Gordon Burgess, the two work together to plan a holiday fete.  Will Gordon's charms manage to capture the widow's attention, let alone her heart?  

While I enjoyed some of the stories more than others ("Christmas at Canterwood" is my favorite), all four are filled with enough charm, hope, and love to warm even the coldest heart.  Short and sweet, they make for light but uplifting reading that is especially well suited for the busy holiday season.  A satisfying collection, this book would make a fun gift for anyone who enjoys clean, happy endings-guaranteed Regency love stories.  If you are looking for a quick, Christmas-y read to get you into the holiday spirit, look no further.  You've found it.

Readalikes:  Hm, this is the first Regency Christmas tale I've ever read, so I'm not sure what to compare it to ... Any ideas?

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for a small amount of violence

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Christmas Grace from the generous folks at Covenant.  Thank you!

--

Interested in more opinions of Christmas Grace?  Follow along on the book's blog tour by visiting the stops below:

*Oct. 27th: http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/, http://reviewsfromtheheart.blogspot.com/, http://www.blogginboutbooks.com -- a little late, oops!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive