Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2023 Bookish Books Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 30 books. 13% done!

2023 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (1)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:

- Australia (1)
- Ireland (1)

My Progress:


11 / 51 states. 22% done!

2023 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


3 / 25 books. 12% done!

2023 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

Booklist Queen's 2023 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


15 / 52 books. 29% done!

2023 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


18 / 52 books. 35% done!

2023 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


12 / 40 books. 30% done!

2023 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


7 / 40 books. 18% done!

2023 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 25 books. 16% done!

2023 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Book Bingo Reading Challenge


12 / 25 books. 48% done!

2023 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 109 books. 17% done!

Children's Book Reading Challenge...For Adults!

Friday, February 23, 2018

Bookish Cozy Warm and Fun

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Despite her obsession with British mystery novels, 46-year-old Karen Nash has never actually crossed the pond.  That's why the Minnesota librarian is so thrilled about her upcoming trip to London.  Six months in the making, the vacation will be the fulfillment of all her bluestocking dreams.  Karen's boyfriend ("the love of my midlife" [9]), a 50-year-old plumber named Dave, doesn't share her enthusiasm, but after a week in a quaint British B&B, she's pretty sure he'll come around.  

When Dave calls at the last minute to cancel not just their trip but also their entire relationship, Karen is devastated.  Deciding that the best revenge will be to have a good time in London without him, she scrapes up enough cash to purchase her own ticket.  When she spies Dave at the airport with a pretty, young blonde on his arm, she becomes even more infuriated.  She feels mad enough to kill the jerk, but when she spills her drunken guts to a stranger in a pub, he appears to take her pronouncement seriously.  Has Karen just sicced an assassin on her ex-boyfriend and his new fling?  

While Karen tries to warn Dave, a wealthy flower breeder is murdered at the B&B where she's staying.  On the verge of creating a blue rose, Howard Worth had plenty of enemies.  Who actually did the dirty deed?  With a nose for sleuthing, Karen—the self-proclaimed "master of the mystery section" (5)—is determined to find his killer.  In the process, she'll soak in British culture, find drool-worthy books to add to her collection, and fall in love with both England and a kindly bibliophile who may also be a murderer.

Killer Librarian, a debut novel by Mary Lou Kirwin (a pen name of Mary Logue) and the first in a series, is a fun bookish cozy.  Anyone who loves mystery novels will enjoy hanging out with Karen, who throws out reading recommendations right and left.  The situation in which she finds herself gets sillier as the story progresses and the mystery she's trying to solve really isn't that mysterious.  There is one twist in the tale that caught me completely off-guard, mostly because it seemed completely unnecessary.  Other than that, Killer Librarian is a fairly typical cozy—it's warm, it's fun, it's far-fetched, it's enjoyable.  The bookish theme is my favorite part of this series; because of that, I'll keep reading it.  

(Readalikes:  Death Overdue by Mary Lou Kirwin)  

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs) and violence

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of Killer Librarian from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
All the Dangerous Things by Stacy Willingham

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The War Librarian by Addison Armstrong



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive