Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 100 books. 23% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


61 / 165 books. 37% done!
Saturday, March 14, 2015

What's It Like to Be An LDS Missionary? New Picture Book Gives Kids an Inside Look.

(Image from author's website)

Do you ever wonder what it's really like to be a missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints?  

When David and Megan receive letters from their Uncle Clay, they get a little taste of what an LDS mission is all about.  They learn how elders and sisters teach people the Gospel, serve others, bear their testimonies, and invite everyone to come unto Christ.  They also hear about more mundane parts of the missionary experience, like learning to eat unfamiliar foods, living with a companion, dealing with rejection, and exercising to keep their bodies strong.  Most importantly, Uncle Clay assures them they don't have to wait until they're older to be missionaries—there are things they can do right now, as kids, to prepare themselves to serve the Lord.  After all, you don't have to wear a name tag to help and teach other people!

I don't review many picture books, but when Benjamin Hyrum White asked "Sister BBB" to take a look at his newest, I couldn't resist.  I Hope They Call Me on a Mission, written by White and illustrated by Corey Egbert, is an uplifting, informative tale about what LDS missionaries do day in and day out.  It gives a great overview, with bright, appealing pictures to enhance the text.  I especially like the "What Can You Do Now?" sections, which help kids understand that they can do many things right now to not only help them serve missions in the future, but also to live Christ-centered lives in the present.    

While I Hope They Call Me on a Mission may be difficult for young children to read by themselves, it's a great tool for parents/teachers to use for Family Home Evenings, Primary lessons, and Sacrament Meeting entertainment.  Middle graders will enjoy absorbing all the information in the book as well.  Personally, I plan on sharing it with my own offspring in an upcoming FHE.  You should, too.

Want more opinions of I Hope They Call Me on a Mission?  Follow the book's blog tour here.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of I Hope They Call Me on a Mission from the generous folks at Cedar Fort.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive