Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (3)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida (1)
- Georgia (2)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (5)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico (1)
- New York (9)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (1)
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota (1)
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (3)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming (1)
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (16)
France (1)
Greece (1)
Ireland (2)
Italy (1)
Malaysia (1)
Nepal (1)
Poland (1)
Portugal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


38 / 51 states. 75% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


65 / 53 books. 123% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 52 books. 83% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


36 / 50 books. 72% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 40 books. 95% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Saturday, March 14, 2015

What's It Like to Be An LDS Missionary? New Picture Book Gives Kids an Inside Look.

(Image from author's website)

Do you ever wonder what it's really like to be a missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints?  

When David and Megan receive letters from their Uncle Clay, they get a little taste of what an LDS mission is all about.  They learn how elders and sisters teach people the Gospel, serve others, bear their testimonies, and invite everyone to come unto Christ.  They also hear about more mundane parts of the missionary experience, like learning to eat unfamiliar foods, living with a companion, dealing with rejection, and exercising to keep their bodies strong.  Most importantly, Uncle Clay assures them they don't have to wait until they're older to be missionaries—there are things they can do right now, as kids, to prepare themselves to serve the Lord.  After all, you don't have to wear a name tag to help and teach other people!

I don't review many picture books, but when Benjamin Hyrum White asked "Sister BBB" to take a look at his newest, I couldn't resist.  I Hope They Call Me on a Mission, written by White and illustrated by Corey Egbert, is an uplifting, informative tale about what LDS missionaries do day in and day out.  It gives a great overview, with bright, appealing pictures to enhance the text.  I especially like the "What Can You Do Now?" sections, which help kids understand that they can do many things right now to not only help them serve missions in the future, but also to live Christ-centered lives in the present.    

While I Hope They Call Me on a Mission may be difficult for young children to read by themselves, it's a great tool for parents/teachers to use for Family Home Evenings, Primary lessons, and Sacrament Meeting entertainment.  Middle graders will enjoy absorbing all the information in the book as well.  Personally, I plan on sharing it with my own offspring in an upcoming FHE.  You should, too.

Want more opinions of I Hope They Call Me on a Mission?  Follow the book's blog tour here.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of I Hope They Call Me on a Mission from the generous folks at Cedar Fort.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive