Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


7 / 25 books. 28% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Sunday, September 16, 2012

Have YOU Done Any Good in the World Today?

(Image from Deseret Book)

Gordon B. Hinckley, president of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints from March 1995 until his death in January 2008, once said:  
It is not enough just to be good.  You must be good for something.  You must contribute good to the world.  The world must be a better place for your presence.  And the good that is in you must spread to others.  
In her new book, Standing Up in a Sit-down World, Merrilee Boyack talks about specific ways we can all follow the prophet's counsel to do good in the world.  Boyack, a popular speaker at events like BYU Education Week and Time Out For Women, is also an attorney, a wife, a mother, a grandmother, an author, a life coach, and a busy community activist.  She knows exactly what it's like to feel overwhelmed, but she also knows how good it feels to spend time making a difference in the lives of others.  To that end, she suggests easy ways all of us can contribute to the welfare of our friends, families, communities and the world at large.

While Boyack's message is nothing new—especially to members of the church who learn to serve others from the moment they toddle into Nursery (if not before)—she did say a few things that struck a chord with me.  First, she talks about the difference between offering to help and actually doing it.  I don't know about you, but I'm pretty good at the former, not so great at the latter.  Boyack, though, insists that "[doing good] requires action" (75).  She suggests opening your eyes and ears to the needs of the people around you, listening when the Spirit prompts you to help, then having the courage to follow through.  A lesson I definitely need to learn.  Second, she assures us that, since all of us are unique and have different talents, we can serve in the ways that are most comfortable and satisfying to us.  Third, she reminds us to be bold.  Stand up for your values, for your rights, for your beliefs.  Even the smallest of voices can make a difference.

It's obvious from all the examples she shares in the book that Boyack not only believes what she's preaching, but also practices it every day.  Her enthusiasm is definitely catching.  While Standing Up in a Sit-down World might not offer anything really profound or original, it does serve as a great reminder of the power of serving others.  At only 106 pages (including an appendix, list of references and an index), it's a quick, motivating read that will inspire all who read it to not just be good, but to "be good for something."

While we're on the topic, I wanted to share this gorgeous rendition of "Have I Done Any Good?" by Alex Boyé and Carmen Rasmusen Herbert.  It's ... stunning.



(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:  B-

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  G

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Standing Up in a Sit-down World from the generous folks at Deseret Book.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive