Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


7 / 25 books. 28% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Monday, June 20, 2016

Compelling Psychological Thriller Also Sad, Depressing

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Heidi Wood can't resist a stray.  The 37-year-old works for a non-profit, collects feral cats, and smothers her only child in plenty of unwanted motherly attention.  She's always wanted more children, so when Heidi spies a disheveled young woman at the train station cradling an equally unkempt baby, her heart goes out to them.  At first, 16-year-old Willow refuses to let Heidi help her or baby Ruby, who's suffering from a bad cold made worse by exposure to Chicago's inclement winter weather.  When the teen finally gives in, Heidi brings both of them to her home.  The other Woods are horrified.  Who is this stranger invading their already crowded apartment?  And what of the wailing baby to whom Heidi is forming an unhealthy attachment?  Nothing good can come of sheltering them, not in Chris Wood's mind.  But his wife insists.  After all, who would be cruel enough to toss a sick baby and her worn-out young mother back onto the cold, mean streets?  Certainly not Heidi.

As mother and child continue their stay, secrets about Willow's past slowly come to life.  The more Heidi learns, the more disturbed she becomes.  She'll protect Ruby at all costs.  But what will be the price for her devotion?  Her family?  Her sanity?  Her life?  

Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica tells an engrossing story about one woman's obsession with getting that for which her heart has always yearned.  It's a twisty tale, compelling, but also sad and depressing.  While all the novel's characters are sympathetic, none are particularly likable.  This fact made the read feel less fulfilling for me.  The plot definitely kept my attention, though.  Overall, then, I liked this one just didn't love it.

(Readalikes:  Reminded me of How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a couple F-bombs plus milder expletives), violence, sexual content, and disturbing subject matter (child abuse, spousal abuse, sexual abuse, etc.)

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive