Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (7)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


22 / 51 books. 43% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


15 / 50 books. 30% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 50 books. 84% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


32.2 / 26.2 miles. 123% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


20 / 100 books. 20% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


55 / 104 books. 53% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


54 / 165 books. 33% done!
Wednesday, September 04, 2013

Zany Middle Grade Adventure Pays Homage to Reading, Learning and Crazy Ole Willy Wonka

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

With two older brothers—one a super jock, the other a genius—Kyle Keeley's used to coming in last all the time.  Except when it comes to games.  In that arena, he's at least got a fighting chance.  Games are, in fact, the 12-year-old's passion.  Whether it's video games, board games, puzzles, whatever—Kyle's wild about them.  

When Kyle finds out that Mr. Luigi Lemoncello, the kooky, but brilliant man who created all of his favorite games, is designing his town's new library, he couldn't be more intrigued.  Along with 11 other kids, Kyle wins the chance to spend the night in the finished building.  The place is even more amazing than he could have dreamed possible.  But, when his incredible night in the library ends, its doors won't open.  The kids are trapped inside.  That's when Mr. Lemoncello announces his newest, most exciting game yet:  in order to escape from the library, the kids inside must compete against each other to solve a series of clues leading to the library's secret, hidden passageway to the outside.  While the contestants can bow out at any time, unbelievably awesome prizes await those who stay.  

Kyle wouldn't miss this game for the world.  He has to win, if only to prove to everyone else that he's just as capable as his brothers.  But, can he out think his classmates and solve all the clues in the library before they do?  Or will Kyle Keeley come in last place once again?

I read so many dark, depressing novels for older readers that I sometimes forget how bright and uplifting middle grade books can be.  Chris Grabenstein's newest, Escape From Mr. Lemoncello's Library, is a perfect example.  It's fun, it's fast-paced, it's quirky, it's just all kinds of delightful.  A enjoyable romp that pays homage to the power of learning, reading and thinking, this is a book that will tickle the fancies of all readers.  If you haven't read it yet, do.  Then, pass it on to your kids, grandkids, neighbors, friends, mailman, obscure relatives ...

(Readalikes:  Reminded me of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl)

Grade:  

If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find
   
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive