Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


9 / 30 books. 30% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont (1)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (6)
- France (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


14 / 51 states. 27% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


18 / 50 books. 36% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


37 / 50 books. 74% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 52 books. 56% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


22 / 40 books. 55% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 26.2 miles. 84% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


18 / 100 books. 18% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 104 books. 41% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


39 / 165 books. 24% done!
Thursday, August 13, 2015

A YA Western? Why Not? It's Good!

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Life in 1849 St. Joseph, Missouri, is tolerable for Samantha Young and her father—even if both of them dream of being somewhere else.  Samantha, a 15-year-old violinist, longs to return to New York City with its vibrant, sophisticated culture.  Her father, a Chinese immigrant, wants to see the Pacific Ocean and make his fortune in California.  When the family's dry goods store burns to the ground, killing Mr. Young, it becomes apparent that neither one of them will be getting what they desire.  

Penniless, Samantha has little choice but to take their landlord up on his offer of lodging at a hotel he owns.  When he makes it obvious just what he expects in return, she reacts in self-defense, killing the odious man.  With the help of a slave housekeeper named Annamae, Samantha flees.  Disguised as boys, the two girls join other travelers headed west on The Oregon Trail.  Desperate to get as far away from St. Joe as possible, the pair brave danger of every kind as they become unwitting pioneers.  
When "Sammy" and "Andy" meet up with a trio of young, would-be gold prospectors, they worry their precious secrets will be discovered.  Will the boys find out their new companions are really girls in disguise?  Can Samantha and Annamae keep their real identities under wraps until they reach safety in California?  Does a safe place even exist for two fugitives on the run from some very powerful enemies?  

While historical fiction for teens isn't hard to come by, YA westerns are practically unheard of.  Maybe that's what makes Under a Painted Sky, a debut novel by Stacey Lee, stand out.  Or, maybe it's because of the diverse characters she creates—not only are they sympathetic, but they're also complex and intriguing.  Or, it could be Lee's vivid, engaging prose.  Or the novel's perfect balance between adventure, suspense, romance, and humor.  Or, the warmth the story exudes, despite its treatment of tough subjects.  Take your pick.  All of these elements come together in charming, compelling harmony in Under the Painted Sky.  At its heart, it's a story about friendship, but it's also so very, very much more ... I loved it.  

(Readalikes:  Um, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:

  
If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence (including an attempted rape scene)/gore, and sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of Under a Painted Sky from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Swimming in a Sea of Stars by Julie Wright

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Tobacco Wives by Adele Myer



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive