Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Friday, November 04, 2016

Life's Trials Got You Down? Try This Inspirational Collection for a Quick, Encouraging Boost.

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

In a world so full of chaos and struggle, it's easy to get bogged down by life.  Teens, especially, have a difficult path to navigate.  As they try to figure out the answers to life's big questions while, at the same time, creating their own unique identities, well, it's easy to get lost, discouraged, and depressed.  Sometimes it's a comfort to know that others have trod the same trail.  Often, it's inspiring to hear their stories.  Frequently, it's buoying to learn how others have overcome their own trials.  

The aim of You've Got This!, a new compilation of essays by popular LDS authors/speakers, is to lift up the hands that hang down.  Especially geared toward teens, it features eight selections by a variety of people who've experienced a wide range of life struggles.  From Chad Hymas, who became a quadriplegic after being crushed by a 2000-pound hay bale; to Tamu Smith, who was snubbed after her friends found out her mother was in prison; to Al Fox Carraway, who was shunned by everyone she knew after joining the LDS Church, the writers are well acquainted with grief. They're also familiar with the steps that need to be taken in order to turn that sorrow and despair into triumph over the challenges that have gotten them down. 

Because the authors featured in this collection are religious people, their stories emphasize reliance on God and faith as sources of strength.  Still, you don't need to be LDS to appreciate their counsel.  If you are a member of the Church, you will especially appreciate Zandra Vanes' stories about Mr. Lee and Carraway's stories about feeling like a fish out of water at church.  Really, though, these essays can uplift and inspire anyone, regardless of age or religion.  If you know a teen who's in need of a boost, this short, easy-to-read collection might be just what they need.  Despite a few copyediting issues, it's a gem.

(Readalikes:  Other inspirational essays by popular LDS speakers/writers, including John Bytheway, Brad Wilcox, Hank Smith, Emily Watts, etc.)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for nothing offensive

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of You've Got This! from the generous folks at Cedar Fort.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive