Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


6 / 30 books. 20% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (4)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


9 / 51 states. 18% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


8 / 50 books. 16% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 50 books. 50% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


22 / 52 books. 42% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


18 / 40 books. 45% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


3 / 25 books. 12% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 26.2 miles. 46% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 100 books. 12% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


27 / 104 books. 26% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


26 / 52 books. 50% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


26 / 165 books. 16% done!
Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Imagine That!: The Story Behind The Cat in the Hat

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Everyone's heard of The Cat in the Hat, but have you ever wondered about the book's history?  The beloved tale turned 60 this year—what better time could there be to learn more about this enduring children's classic?  It's a great time to ask questions like:  How did Theodore Geisel (aka Dr. Seuss) come up with the idea for the story?  Why does the book contain only 236 words, all of which are perfectly ordinary, not made-up ones like oobleck and yerka and wumbus?  And why did Dr. Seuss write about a cat when he liked dogs better?  

Wonder no more.

Imagine That!, a new picture book by Judy Sierra (illustrated by Kevin Hawkes), answers all those questions and more.  In spirited, engaging prose Sierra explains why and how Geisel wrote The Cat in the Hat.  She throws in lots of interesting tidbits about the author's writing process, all of which highlight how fun, creative, and clever he was.  With bright, Seuss-ish pictures to enhance the text, Imagine That! is a playful, easy-to-read, story-behind-the-story tale.  Adults and children alike will enjoy learning more about The Cat in the Hat through this delightful book.

P.S. If you want to learn even more about Dr. Seuss, be sure to visit Judy Sierra's blog, where she's been posting all the fascinating Theodore Geisel facts she couldn't fit into Imagine That! 

(Readalikes:  The Cat in the Hat and other books by Dr. Seuss)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of Imagine That! from the generous folks at Random House Children's Books.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive