Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


7 / 30 books. 23% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (4)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


10 / 51 states. 20% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


8 / 50 books. 16% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


14 / 50 books. 28% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


26 / 50 books. 52% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 52 books. 44% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 40 books. 48% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


3 / 25 books. 12% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 26.2 miles. 46% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 100 books. 12% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


28 / 104 books. 27% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


27 / 52 books. 52% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


27 / 165 books. 16% done!
Friday, June 16, 2017

Love on Pointe a Fun, Faith-Promoting Debut (With a Giveaway!)

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Rhys Solario isn't like the other guys at Brigham Young University.  He hasn't served a mission, he doesn't hold the priesthood, he's not interested in a temple marriage—heck, he's not even Mormon.  He's a good guy, but he's learned from bitter experience that he's not the kind of man for whom BYU co-eds are looking.  Which is fine by him.  He just needs to keep his head down for two more semesters, then he'll be done with the Y and its crazy dating scene forever. 

http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/p/lds-authors.htmlEmmy Jennings only has one thing on her mind: ballet.  She's a talented, experienced ballerina, but now that her impulsive twin has up and quit dancing—an obsession they've always shared—Emmy will have to work even harder to learn routines and perform well enough to earn a coveted solo in an upcoming show.  With a full school schedule, a learning disability that makes studying even more complicated, and a sister-roommate who's acting strangely, Emmy's got plenty on her plate.  The last thing she needs is a distraction like her handsome new study partner.  She's not looking for a date, let alone her eternal companion, but Emmy can't deny her attraction to kind, down-to-earth Rhys Solario.

Rhys can't believe a gorgeous, graceful Mormon girl like Emmy is giving a guy like him a chance.  Of course, she doesn't know he's not a member of her church.  He needs to tell her.  Right away.  The second he does, though, she'll jeté right out of his life.  Rhys will do anything to keep Emmy by his side.  Except the one thing she wants him to do: convert.  Will Emmy have to give up what's most important to her in order for the couple to have a chance?  Or will their whirlwind romance end before it's even had a chance to begin? 

Love on Pointe, a debut novel by Tiffany Odekirk, is an upbeat, swoony romance featuring a likable duo battling an impossible problem.  While I found the story's premise a little implausible, I adored its setting.  Odekirk does an admirable job of bringing the BYU atmosphere to life in all its goofy glory, capturing both the fun and frustration inherent in the student experience.  She also goes to great pains to break down common stereotypes, although many manage to bleed through.  Still, Love on Pointe tackles a difficult situation with honesty and sensitivity.  Although it's obvious from the get-go how the story will end, she throws in a couple of surprises to keep the plot interesting.  Not every aspect of the story line rang true for me, but overall I found Love on Pointe an enjoyable read.  Yes, it oozes a fair amount of cheese and melodrama; still, it's a bright, fun, faith-promoting book that will appeal to anyone looking for a clean, easy-to-read LDS romance.  While I have a few issues with Odekirk's debut performance, one thing is certain—I can't wait to see what she does for an encore.    

(Readalikes:  Love on Pointe reminded me of other contemporary LDS romances by Melanie Jacobson, Jenny Proctor, and Brittany Larsen)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for nothing offensive, although the story is most appropriate for readers 12+

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Love on Pointe from the generous folks at Covenant.  Thank you!

--


Want more opinions on Love on Pointe?  Follow along on the book's blog tour:


 Want to win your own copy of Love on Pointe plus a $25 Amazon gift card?  Enter here:

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive