Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont (1)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (7)
- France (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


18 / 51 states. 35% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


20 / 50 books. 40% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 50 books. 76% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 52 books. 63% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 40 books. 57% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


24 / 26.2 miles. 92% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


19 / 100 books. 19% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


49 / 104 books. 47% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


44 / 165 books. 27% done!
Friday, December 06, 2019

Another Page-Turner from a Psychological Thriller Master

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

As a child, Jocelyn "Jo" Holt's world revolved around one person—her beloved nanny, Hannah Burgess.  When Hannah disappeared from luxurious Lake Hall without a trace, it shattered young Jo.  Her parents appeared unfazed by the woman's sudden departure, insisting Hannah had simply moved on.  Jo couldn't believe she would go without saying goodbye.  Something awful had to have happened to remove Hannah so suddenly, so callously, from Jo's life.  Did someone hurt Hannah?  Or did she really just take another position without informing the charge she claimed to love?

Thirty years later, Jo is back at Lake Hall, her 10-year-old daughter, Ruby, in tow.  A recent widow, she has been left temporarily without a home or funds.  Although she detests her cold, aristocratic mother, Jo has no choice but to move in with Virginia Holt.  At least for the time being.  

When human remains are discovered on the Holts' property, old questions surface.  Do the bones belong to Hannah?  Or are they much older, as Virginia claims?  As the police begin a probing investigation, Jo is forced to ask some disturbing questions:  Who was Hannah Burgess, really?  Why did she disappear?  And what, if anything, did Jo's parents have to do with her vanishment?  

I'm a fan of Gilly Macmillan's twisty psychological thrillers.  The Nanny might not be my favorite of hers, but it's still a taut, compelling page-turner.  Jo and her cohorts aren't a super likable bunch and yet, I cared what happened to them.  Plotwise, The Nanny is exciting and surprising, which definitely kept me racing through the pages.  Like all the psychological thrillers I've been reading lately, this one is sad and depressing.  And yet, I enjoyed it, all in all.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of other books by Gilly Macmillan)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, sexual content, and depictions of illegal drug use

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of The Nanny from the generous folks at William Morrow (an imprint of HarperCollins) in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Swimming in a Sea of Stars by Julie Wright

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Tobacco Wives by Adele Myer



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive