Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


5 / 30 books. 17% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (1)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- England (3)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


9 / 51 states. 18% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


6 / 50 books. 12% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


12 / 50 books. 24% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 52 books. 38% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


2 / 25 books. 8% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


11 / 26.2 miles. 42% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


11 / 100 books. 11% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 104 books. 23% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 52 books. 44% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 165 books. 14% done!
Thursday, December 21, 2017

Christmas Novella Exudes Such a Strong Sense of Place It Will Leave You Longing For Your Own Ruby's

(Image from author's website)

Once upon a time, folks in tiny Sullivan, Missouri, gathered at Ruby's Place—an elegant, family-friendly nightspot—to meet friends, celebrate special occasions, and dance the night away.  A warm, welcoming refuge all throughout the year, Ruby's Place became even more inviting during Christmastime.  Sparkling with holiday spirit, it seemed almost ... magical.

As a child, nothing delighted Angela Lowe more than her annual Christmas visit to Ruby's with her chic aunt.  Just like Angela has changed over the years, so has Sullivan, and so has its once-beloved bar.  Abandoned long ago, the building is a ramshackle ruin, its "For Lease" sign an optimistic plea to a deteriorating town.  Its crumbling exterior mirrors Angela's own.  Lonely and disappointed by life, she feels as hopeless as Ruby's Place looks.  

A week away from Christmas, Angela happens past the old bar.  As she peers through its grimy windows, seeking even a speck of its old holiday sparkle, she gets a shock courtesy of Ruby's "spirits."  Still vibrant inside the moldering walls of the old nightspot, the ghosts of Christmases past are alive and well.  Not only that, but they've got a plan for Angela Lowe ...

Christmas at Ruby's, a novella by Holly Schindler, tells a sweet holiday story about the power of hope.  Its charming premise leads to an imaginative tale with such a strong sense of place that it will leave you longing for your own Ruby's Place.  Or at least for a full-length novel featuring Ruby's and all its colorful inhabitants.  If you're looking for a quick, heartwarming read to get you in the holiday spirit, look no further than Christmas at Ruby's.  It's an engaging, uplifting tale perfect for these busy, fun-filled days leading up to the big holiday.  

*At 99 cents for the e-book and only $6 for a paperback, Christmas at Ruby's is an affordable gift, perfect for holiday giving.*

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't really think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Christmas at Ruby's from the always generous Holly Schindler.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive