Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 100 books. 21% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


59 / 165 books. 36% done!
Wednesday, May 16, 2018

New Romantic Suspense Novel Too Meh For Me (With a Giveaway!)

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Haley Wyatt is preparing to say goodbye to Grisa, her beloved 100-year-old great-grandmother, when a phone call from Germany rocks both of their worlds.  A relative informs them that a body has been found in an old, walled-in room in Baumdorf.  The remains have been identified as those of Ulrich Krauss, Haley's great-grandfather.  Grisa, who thought her husband abandoned her, has always told her family he died in World War II.  Both Haley and Grisa are shocked by the truth—Ulrich Krauss was murdered.  Desperate to honor the man she has been decrying for almost a century, Grisa begs Haley to travel to Germany in her stead and find out what really happened to Ulrich.

Almost from the moment she steps on German soil, Haley feels as if someone is watching her.  Even with handsome Joshua Davison—an old friend of her brother's—by her side, she can't shake the sinister feeling.  The more she learns about Ulrich Krauss' disappearance, the more certain Haley feels.  Someone doesn't want her digging into the past.  That someone will go to great lengths to stop her from finding out who killed her great-grandfather.  The closer she comes to discovering the reason behind his death, the more dangerous her trip to Germany becomes.  Can Haley find what she's looking for before it's too late?  Or will she be the next victim of a killer determined to keep the secrets of the past from ever coming to light?

Romantic suspense has never been my favorite, but there are definitely things I appreciate about the genre.  Like many of its fellows, Unforgettable by Ronda Gibb Hinrichsen is a quick, clean read that shies away from graphic violence, language, and sensuality.  Although it deals with some disturbing subjects, overall its themes of hope, redemption, and love are what really shine through.  I also find the subject of Nazi-stolen art interesting, so I enjoyed that aspect of the story.  Unfortunately, Unforgettable also falls back on some of my least favorite genre staples—flat characters, insta-love, a far-fetched plot line, melodramatic prose, and contrived plot devices.  I didn't feel much of a connection with Haley or any real sparks between her and Joshua.  Also, because we already know "whodunit," there's not a whole lot of suspense to keep the novel interesting.  These elements took away from the story for me, making it pretty meh for me overall.  Still, Unforgettable is an entertaining enough tale, as long as you don't expect too much of it.  If you dig this genre, you might want to give it a chance.

(Readalikes:  I don't read this genre very often, so I'm not sure what would be an apt comparison.  Suggestions?)

Grade:

If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Unforgettable from the generous folks at Covenant.  Thank you!
--

Interested in more opinions of Unforgettable?  Follow along on the book's blog tour by clicking on the links below:


Want to win a copy of Unforgettable, plus a $25 Amazon gift card?  Enter to win using the Rafflecopter below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway



Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive