Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 100 books. 22% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


60 / 165 books. 36% done!
Tuesday, May 07, 2019

True World War II Stories Both Fascinating and Moving

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

I've read tons of World War II novels, but not too many true accounts.  So, when I heard about Jerry Borrowman's new book, Invisible Heroes of World War II, I knew I wanted to read it.  It's a slim volume and yet, the stories he recounts speak volumes about the bravery, dedication, and sacrifice exhibited by ordinary humans in an extraordinary time. 

Borrowman highlights a variety of individuals and groups who served valiantly in the war, although their contributions were not necessarily known in their day or recognized as much as they should be today.  Among these are people of various ethnicities, nationalities, cultures, and backgrounds.  Both soldiers and civilians, they were also engineers, laborers, spies, pilots, communications experts, journalists, etc. What results is a kaleidoscope of stories, all interesting in their own way.  The one I personally found most intriguing was that of Dickey Chappelle, the courageous war photographer pictured on the book's cover.  She's a fascinating woman, one whom I'd never heard of but would love to read more about.

If you're interested in learning more about some of World War II's unsung heroes, definitely pick up this intriguing book.  It's a quick read, but one that is both fascinating and moving.  I enjoyed reading these untold stories, which made me marvel once again at the remarkable ability of human beings to survive and even thrive in the face of unimaginable cruelty and unspeakable horror.  The people portrayed in Borrowman's book are truly heroes with incredible stories just waiting to be heard ...

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of Women of the Blue & Grey by Marianne Monson

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs), violence, and blood/gore

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of Invisible Heroes of World War II from the generous folks at Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive