Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Tuesday, May 07, 2019

True World War II Stories Both Fascinating and Moving

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

I've read tons of World War II novels, but not too many true accounts.  So, when I heard about Jerry Borrowman's new book, Invisible Heroes of World War II, I knew I wanted to read it.  It's a slim volume and yet, the stories he recounts speak volumes about the bravery, dedication, and sacrifice exhibited by ordinary humans in an extraordinary time. 

Borrowman highlights a variety of individuals and groups who served valiantly in the war, although their contributions were not necessarily known in their day or recognized as much as they should be today.  Among these are people of various ethnicities, nationalities, cultures, and backgrounds.  Both soldiers and civilians, they were also engineers, laborers, spies, pilots, communications experts, journalists, etc. What results is a kaleidoscope of stories, all interesting in their own way.  The one I personally found most intriguing was that of Dickey Chappelle, the courageous war photographer pictured on the book's cover.  She's a fascinating woman, one whom I'd never heard of but would love to read more about.

If you're interested in learning more about some of World War II's unsung heroes, definitely pick up this intriguing book.  It's a quick read, but one that is both fascinating and moving.  I enjoyed reading these untold stories, which made me marvel once again at the remarkable ability of human beings to survive and even thrive in the face of unimaginable cruelty and unspeakable horror.  The people portrayed in Borrowman's book are truly heroes with incredible stories just waiting to be heard ...

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of Women of the Blue & Grey by Marianne Monson

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs), violence, and blood/gore

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of Invisible Heroes of World War II from the generous folks at Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive