Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2023 Bookish Books Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 30 books. 13% done!

2023 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont (1)
- Virginia
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:

- Australia (1)
- Ireland (1)

My Progress:


10 / 51 states. 20% done!

2023 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


3 / 25 books. 12% done!

2023 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


12 / 50 books. 24% done!

Booklist Queen's 2023 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


14 / 52 books. 27% done!

2023 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


17 / 52 books. 33% done!

2023 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


11 / 40 books. 28% done!

2023 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


7 / 40 books. 18% done!

2023 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 25 books. 16% done!

2023 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Book Bingo Reading Challenge


12 / 25 books. 48% done!

2023 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


17 / 109 books. 16% done!

Children's Book Reading Challenge...For Adults!

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Cheap Ending Earns Dallas' Newest a Meh From Me

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Ellen's using scraps of heirloom fabric to create a wedding quilt for her granddaughter June when the bride-to-be shows up on her porch declaring the upcoming nuptials have been called off.  With her fiancé shipping off soon for Korea, June's nervous and uncertain about their future.  In an effort to soothe the young woman's worries, Ellen tells her a story about a lady who ran away from marriage three times ...

At the end of the 19th Century, a 22-year-old schoolteacher named Nell strikes out for the New Mexico Territory.  She craves adventure and she longs for love.  Nell finds both at the Rockin' A, a rustic cattle ranch where she becomes a biscuit shooter.  When she falls for a charming cowboy, Nell's over the moon with happiness.  Then Buddy breaks her heart.  Devastated, Nell runs away, vowing never to be so foolish again.  As her traitorous heart starts beating for another, she can't shake off her lingering anxiety.  Can she trust any man's declarations of love?  How will she know if a suitor's sincere and loyal enough to marry?  More importantly, will she ever find true love, the kind that leads to the happy contentment for which she longs?  Nell will have to learn some difficult lessons about life and love before she even comes close to her happily ever after.

Can Nell's hard-won wisdom help June make the most important decision of her life?

With a vivid Old West setting and a story line that's entertaining if not all that engrossing, The Patchwork Bride is the newest historical romance from genre staple Sandra Dallas.  Although the novel's short on plot, it does have a certain charm.  I didn't feel any real connection with its heroine, however, since Nell strikes me as selfish, easy, and fickle.  While the story moves along in a predictable manner, the "surprise" ending feels cheap and sneaky.  In fact, the finale soured the whole tale for me.  The Patchwork Bride just didn't feel like a satisfying read after that!  I wanted to love this one, but in the end, my only feeling is ... meh.  

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't really think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs) and violence

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of The Patchwork Bride from the generous folks at St. Martin's Press.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
All the Dangerous Things by Stacy Willingham

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The War Librarian by Addison Armstrong



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive