Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Monday, May 05, 2014

Wexler v. Fishman—Another Exciting Battle in an Author War of Wits (With a Giveaway)

No, your eyes do not deceive you—yes, I am participating in a blog tour, even though I swore off them at the beginning of the year.  I know.  I'm such a flake!  Actually, this one just sounded too fun to pass up, especially since I had just finished The Forbidden Library, anyway.  

Also, I jumped at the chance to offer you a chance to win a copy of The Forbidden Library.  Everything you need to know to enter the contest is at the bottom of this post.

Oh, and this is the fourth stop in the tour.  To see the previous ones, click the links below:

PART ONE at Bookish
PART TWO at The Young Folks
PART THREE at Ticket to Anywhere

Enjoy!

----

 Welcome to THE FORBIDDEN LIBRARY blog tour! In honor of Django Wexler’s new series, perfect for fans of CoralineInkheart, and The Books of Elsewhere, we’ve paired Django and fellow Penguin author Seth Fishman (The Well’s End) in a battle of wits! Each day for the next two weeks, Seth and Django will challenge each other to escape from popular story scenes in the most creative way. Follow along as the two try to outmatch each other and check out some cool interior art from THE FORBIDDEN LIBRARY along the way!

Seth to DjangoI can't help it, Alice has some tea, at a party, with one hatter... if she managed to get out of Through the Looking Glass, how would the Mad Hatter's power manifest?

I can't help but think that my Alice would be irritated by whimsy and irrationality of Wonderland.  Her namesake is a more "go with the flow" sort of person, who wanders from one spectacle to the next but never seems very interested in how things fit together.  My Alice is the sort of girl of investigates things, and asks questions, and generally picks apart whatever's in front of her.  She'd want to know where the Mad Hatter gets his tea from -- does he buy it at a shop somewhere? -- and where the food comes from for all the unbirthdays.  (Being practical, though, I think she'd be right behind the unbirthday concept.)

What would the Mad Hatter's power be?  Hard to say, he's mad after all!  I think it would be something to do with wordplay -- maybe the ability to think up baffling doggerel and puns on a moment's notice, or to run verbal rings around your opponents until they're utterly confused.  Very useful if Alice ever decided to become a lawyer!  The ability to use mirrors as portals would also be a pretty neat power to have, and a logical one to get out of Through the Looking Glass

The Forbidden Library Synopsis:

Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That--along with everything else--changed the day she met her first fairy.

When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon--an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within.
It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.

About Django Wexler: Django Wexler is the author of The Thousand Names. He lives near Seattle, Washington.

The Well’s End Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Mia Kish's small town of Fenton, Colorado is known for three things: being home to the world's tallest sycamore tree, the national chicken-thigh-eating contest and one of the ritziest boarding schools in the country, Westbrook Academy. But when emergency sirens start blaring and Westbrook is put on lockdown, quarantined and surrounded by soldiers who shoot first and ask questions later, Mia realizes she's only just beginning to discover what makes Fenton special.

And the answer is behind the wall of the Cave, aka Fenton Electronics, of which her father is the Director. Mia's dad has always been secretive about his work, allowing only that he's working for the government. But unless Mia's willing to let the whole town succumb to a strange illness that ages people years in a matter of hours, the end result death, she's got to break quarantine, escape the school grounds and outsmart armed soldiers to uncover the truth. 

About Seth Fishman: Seth Fishman is a native of Midland, Texas (think Friday Night Lights), and a graduate of Princeton University and the University of East Anglia in Norwich, England.  He spends his days as a literary agent at The Gernert Company and his nights (and mornings) writing. He lives in Jersey City, New Jersey.  This is his first novel (that's not in a drawer). 

----

So fun!  Okay, here's the low-down on the giveaway: If you live in the U.S. or Canada and would like a chance to win your own copy of The Forbidden Library, all you need to do is comment on this post and tell me what your dream library would include (first editions of your favorite novels; a built-in coffee/cocoa bar; signed posters of your favorite authors; etc.).  Please also include your email address, so I have a way to contact you if you win.  You have until May 20th to enter.  

A Forbidden Library Where Books "Leak" Into the Real World? Yes, Please!

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

When Alice Creighton's father drowns in a mysterious shipwreck, the 12-year-old finds herself adrift.  She can't stay in her big, old house alone—even if she could find a way to save it from being sold at auction.  The only solution is to do what she's told and go to Pittsburgh, where she'll stay with an uncle she's never met.  It's all very straight-forward.  The always practical Alice can think of no better alternative to her problem.

Maybe the change of scenery will help relieve her extreme sadness, an overwhelming grief that is causing her to see things.  Like fairies.  Even in Pennsylvania, Alice can't shake the strange visions—surely talking cats aren't real, even in a place like Uncle Geryon's creepy castle.  And then there's his library—a forbidden library—which Alice knows is full of even greater wonders.  Either she's insane or the strange creatures are real, people really can jump into books and there's a whole lot more than meets the eye to everyone and everything around her—including Alice herself. 

As Alice begins to untangle the vast mysteries contained in the library, she wonders how she's going to solve the most compelling one of all:  What happened to her father?  Is he really dead?  Or is he, like her, simply trapped in a vast, impossible world of magic?  Can she find him if she just knows where to look?  

The Forbidden Library, the first book in a new fantasy series by Django Wexler, introduces readers to a complex world where Readers can step inside stories, but have to fight their way out.  It's a wild treasure hunt that hops between reality and fantasy, making fairy tales come alive in the most frightening ways.  As Alice learns the rules through trial and error, the reader journeys with her, always wondering if this adventure will be her last.  Although the story gets confusing at times, The Forbidden Library is a fun, Inkheart-ish read that will appeal to book lovers of all ages.   

(Readalikes:  The Inkheart trilogy [Inkheart; Inkspell; Inkdeath] by Cornelia Funke and The Book of Story Beginnings by Kristin Kladstrup

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:  


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs), scary scenes, and violence

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of The Forbidden Library from the generous folks at Penguin.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive