Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Wednesday, December 21, 2016

Thought-Provoking Family Drama Asks, "How Far Would You Go to Protect Your Own?"

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

For Katie and Eric Knox, nothing is more important than their daughter's gymnastics career.  An Olympics hopeful, 15-year-old Devon has been training at BelStars since she was three years old.  She and her family have sacrificed everything—everything—for the chance to vie for Olympic gold.  Now that that goal is closer than ever to being achieved, the Knoxes will allow nothing to stand in Devon's way—not money, not time, not BelStar's financial troubles, not Devon's overlooked little brother.  Nothing.  

When a young man associated with the gym is killed, his death rocks the competitive, but close-knit BelStars community.  As the investigation reveals shocking truths about her friends and family, Katie grapples to keep herself together.  No matter what happens, she can't let the tragedy distract Devon from reaching her golden dream.  With the police inquiries creeping ever closer to home, Katie must ask herself just how far she's really willing to go to protect her family. 

My daughter's brief infatuation with gymnastics gave me a disturbing glimpse at how serious many gymnastics parents are about their children's success in the sport.  Because of this, I found the plot of You Will Know Me by Megan Abbott especially unsettling.  And frighteningly realistic.  The novel is more family drama than mystery, yes, but it does revolve around how a suspicious death affects a community.  It's a tense story, compelling despite being a bit predictable.  Yes, the story gets stagnant at certain points.  And yes, the characters are not always easy to connect with, the lot of them being almost wholly unlikable.  Still, You Will Know Me remains an engrossing, thought-provoking tale that asks some chilling questions about marriage, parenting, ambition, and obsession.  I can't say I loved the novel, but it has stayed with me.  If your book club is searching for a read that will provoke a lively discussion, this one should do the trick.  

(Readalikes: Um, I can't really think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, sexual content, and depictions of illegal drug use

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of You Will Know Me from the generous folks at Spark Point Studios as part of the BookSparks Summer Reading Challenge.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive