Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


13 / 30 books. 43% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware (1)
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (2)
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico (1)
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia (1)
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (2)
- Canada (2)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


35 / 51 states. 69% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 50 books. 58% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 40 books. 73% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


11 / 25 books. 44% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


17 / 26.2 miles (2nd lap). 65% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


30 / 100 books. 30% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


74 / 104 books. 71% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


84 / 165 books. 51% done!
Thursday, September 03, 2015

Temple Book an Enlightening, Easy-to-Understand Guide for Newbies and Old-bies Alike

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Although members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints consider what happens inside LDS temples sacred, not secret, there's still a whole lot of confusion surrounding temple worship—not just from non-members, but also from active, LDS temple-goers.  In his new book, Understanding Your Endowment, Cory Jensen seeks to bring some enlightenment to the latter group.  Although the volume is available to the general public, it's intended for—and will be most helpful to—endowed members of the church.  Jensen's readers will, therefore, already be familiar with the general topics he discusses.  Still, he hopes even the most seasoned temple worker will be able to find something new within its pages.  He stresses repeatedly that the Spirit will teach readers what of the information presented is most truthful and valuable for them.

Without revealing the details of the various ceremonies, Jensen explores the ordinances and covenants associated with temple worship.  He uses ancient scripture, religious history, and quotes from modern prophets to further the reader's understanding of temple symbolism, coming unto Christ, how to apply what you learn in these holy edifices to your daily life, etc.    

At a mere 130 pages, the book is a quick read, but it still manages to offer a thorough, thought-provoking overview of a complex, multi-layered topic.  Jensen's approach is both down-to-earth and respectful.  You don't need to be a theologian or a scholar to understand the information he's presenting; likewise, you don't need to be a newbie to gain additional insights into temple worship from this well-researched guide.  Personally, I learned all kinds of new things that I intend to ponder next time I attend the temple.  Because Understanding Your Endowment is such an easy read, I can definitely see myself turning to it again to increase my understanding of and appreciation for my own temple blessings.  If you're looking for an intriguing, easy-to-understand way to enhance your own experience, this is an excellent resource to add to your LDS library.    

(Readalikes:  The Holy Temple by Boyd K. Packer)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for discussions of sexual intimacy (although it is addressed in a respectful, non-graphic way)

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Understanding Your Endowment from the generous folks at Cedar Fort in exchange for my participation in its virtual book tour.  Thank you!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Homecoming by Kate Morton

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Good Neighbor by Maxwell King



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive