Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


14 / 30 books. 47% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware (1)
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (2)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico (1)
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia (1)
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (2)
- Canada (2)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


38 / 51 states. 75% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


32 / 50 books. 64% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


30 / 40 books. 75% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


11 / 25 books. 44% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


19 / 26.2 miles (2nd lap). 73% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


30 / 100 books. 30% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


74 / 104 books. 71% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


87 / 165 books. 53% done!
Thursday, March 10, 2022

Newest St. James Supernatural Thriller An Engrossing Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Forty years ago, two murders rocked the small town of Claire Lake, Oregon. Similarities between the double killings proved the same person was responsibile for both. Although she was later acquitted, 23-year-old Beth Greer was accused of the crimes. Wealthy and eccentric, she was convicted in the court of public opinion, prompting her to retreat from society. Still haunted by the whole experience, Beth is finally ready to talk about the murders, which have never been solved.

Shea Collins is shocked when the infamous Beth Greer, who has stayed out of the spotlight for four decades, agrees to be interviewed for her true crime podcast. As she makes regular visits to the elderly woman in her home, Shea becomes mesmerized by Beth and freaked out by the strange things that happen in her house. Suspecting the place is just as haunted as its owner, she finds that—despite her reservations—she can't stay away. The more she learns, however, the more unsettled Shea becomes. Is she being lured in by a clever, manipulative murderer? Or is something even more sinister going on here?

I can always count on Simone St. James to spin me a shivery, suspenseful yarn. Her newest, The Book of Cold Cases (available March 15) is certainly that. It's atmsopheric, it's creepy, and it's engrossing. The characters are likable; I definitely cared about what was going to happen to them. Although this novel kept me turning pages, it's true I was a tad underwhelmed by it. I kept waiting for a big twist or at least some wild plot turns to shock and surprise me and that didn't really ever happen. In spite of this, I still enjoyed The Book of Cold Cases. I just wanted more from it.

(Readalikes: Reminds me of other Gothic/supernatural thrillers by Simone St. James as well as those by Carol Goodman, Riley Sager, and Emily Carpenter)

Grade:

If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, and blood/gore

To the FTC, with love: I received an e-ARC of The Book of Cold Cases from the generous folks at Penguin via those at NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Homecoming by Kate Morton

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Good Neighbor by Maxwell King



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive