Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Thursday, October 29, 2020

Not Exactly an Edge-of-Your-Seat Thriller, Eight Perfect Murders Still Compelling

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

A decade ago, when he started working at Old Devils bookstore in Boston, Malcolm Kershaw published a blog post listing the most unsolvable murders appearing in classic mystery novels.  No one read it.  At least that's what Malcolm thought.  Now, ten years later, a string of murders has been committed and FBI agent Gwen Mulvey thinks the killer is using his list as a guide map.  

When Gwen asks for Malcolm's help, he hesitates.  Truth is, he knew one of the victims.  If he tells Gwen, suspicion might land on him, which is the last thing he wants considering all the secrets he's keeping ...

I don't want to say too much about the plot of Eight Perfect Murders by Peter Swanson.  The less you know going into it, the better.  Despite its appearances, the novel features a slow-burn kind of story that becomes more engrossing as it goes.  Malcolm is not a super likable character, although he is a sympathetic one.  I related to his love of books and mysteries, even though his constant references to genre classics made me feel woefully under-read!  While I had my suspicions about certain members of the story's cast, Eight Perfect Murders did keep me guessing, which kept me reading even though it's not exactly an edge-of-your-seat thriller.  While I didn't love this book, I did appreciate its original premise, its twists and turns, and the fact that I was still thinking about the story days after I finished it.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything really comparable.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a dozen or so F-bombs, plus milder expletives), violence, blood/gore, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive