Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


7 / 25 books. 28% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Wednesday, October 07, 2015

Earthbound An Enjoyable Supernatural Thrill Ride

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

As the only survivor of a plane crash that killed 255 people (including her parents), Tavia Michaels is confused.  Sure, it could be the traumatic brain injury (TBI) talking, but that only explains some of what the 18-year-old is now experiencing.  She sees strange shapes on historic structures, people who seem to flicker, and now, a guy who dresses in Revolutionary War-era clothing appears to be stalking her.  Tavia doesn't know what to make of it all.  Her small circle of confidantes—her guardians, her psychiatrist, and Benson Ryder, the boy who makes her heart beat double-time—doesn't think she's crazy.  Not exactly.  But Tavia's beginning to wonder ...

When Tavia confronts her stalker, Quinn Avery, she's unnerved by the things he says.  Also intrigued.  Desperate for answers, she continues to communicate with him, becoming more and more attracted to the handsome blonde.  After overhearing an alarming phone conversation at her aunt's house, Tavia's convinced Quinn knows exactly what is happening to her.  And that she's in grave danger.  With Benson's help, she flees to Camden, Maine, following the clues the mysterious man has left for her.  As Tavia puts together the pieces of the mind-boggling puzzle that will reveal the answers to all her questions, she finds herself caught not just in a heady, supernatural time warp, but also in a love triangle that is pulling her heart in two different directions.  Can she untangle the mystery of who she really is and what she really wants in time to save the world from imminent disaster?  What about her own life?  What about her heart?

I usually shy away from paranormal YA novels because they all seem to feature the same tired, cookie-cutter plots.  Earthbound by Aprilynne Pike is no exception.  And yet, I didn't hate this first book in the Earthbound series—in fact, I liked it.  With solid prose and a tense, exciting storyline, it kept me engrossed.  Although the tale starts out confusing, it's a good kind of puzzlement, the kind that makes everything more suspenseful.  Earthbound does get melodramatic, insta-lovey, and predictable at times, but overall, I found it to be a compelling page turner.  If you can overlook the been-there-done-that-a-million-times plot summary, Earthbound makes for an enjoyable read.

(Readalikes:  Every other oh-my-gosh-I-can't-believe-I'm-really-a-vampire/mermaid/goddess/witch/angel/devil/dragon/demon slayer, etc. YA book; also the other books in the series, Earthquake and Earthrise)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), mild sexual innuendo/content, and violence

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of Earthbound (in 2013!) from the generous folks at Razorbill (a division of Penguin Random House).  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive