Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Thursday, March 14, 2019

Savage Wells Series a Satisfying, Swoony Delight

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Note:  While Healing Hearts is more of a companion book than a sequel to its predecessor, The Sheriffs of Savage Wells, reading them out of order may result in spoilers.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.

In the small Western town of Savage Wells, Wyoming, men outnumber women at least 2:1.  Unless he wants to marry a woman old enough to be his grandmother, Gideon MacNamara has to take extreme measures.  As the only doctor for miles around, he's not just lonely but also exhausted from overwork.  Desperate, he sends out a request for a mail-order bride who has nursing experience.  He's not expecting a passionate romance from the union, but at least he can get some help with his bustling medical practice.  

A nurse with a devastating secret she's desperate to keep hidden, Miriam Bricks is grateful for the opportunity to work, even if it is in the middle of nowhere.  When she arrives in Savage Wells, however, she realizes—to her horror—that there's been a terrible mix-up.  Apparently, she's expected to be not just a nurse, but also a wife to a man she's never met!  Her refusal to marry Gideon, a man beloved by the town, makes Miriam an immediate outcast in Savage Wells.  Only Gideon offers her kindness.  He hires her as a nurse, no strings attached.  As the two work together day in and day out, a warm friendship forms between them. 
Just as their friendship is starting to develop into more, Miriam's past comes calling.  The exposure of her secrets could mean the end of Miriam's new life and love.  What will Gideon say when he hears the truth?  Will there be anything left of their friendship or will both of them walk away with shattered hearts?

Healing Hearts by Sarah M. Eden stars one of the minor characters from its predecessor, The Sheriffs of Savage Wells.  Gideon and Miriam are less colorful leads than Cade and Paisley, but they're no less likable.  Both are sympathetic, selfless people who deserve a happy ending.  Their romance is sweet and slow-building but swoony all the same.  Although they're not as fiery as Cade and Paisley, there's still plenty of tension and playful banter flying between them to keep things interesting.  Like its predecessor, Healing Hearts is clean, fun, upbeat, and entertaining.  I found it just as enjoyable—maybe even a little more so—than The Sheriffs of Savage Wells.  If you like light, funny historical romance, you can't go wrong with this series.  It really is a satisfying, swoony delight.

(Readalikes:  The Sheriffs of Savage Wells by Sarah M. Eden, as well as other proper romances by the same author)

Grade:

If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for mild violence

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of Healing Hearts from the generous folks at Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

Clean Historical Romance a Fun, Entertaining Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Savage Wells, Wyoming Territory, might be a small, quiet settlement, but the town is growing fast and its anxious mayor fears trouble is just around the corner.  He needs a tough, dedicated sheriff to keep the peace.  Offering an unusually high salary should lure in the right man for the job.

Legendary lawman Cade O'Brien is certain that man is him.  Assuming his reputation will have proceeded him, he expects to waltz right in and take the position, no contest.  He's shocked when he spies other applicants—one of whom is a woman.  Cade never expected to have to prove himself capable but after a decade of bloody battles with violent criminals, he'll do anything for the easy tranquility Savage Wells offers.

Paisley Bell knows it's unusual for a woman to want to be sheriff, but the truth is she's been doing the job for months, even if the former sheriff took all the credit for her hard work.  She may not have a chance against someone as infamous as Cade O'Brien, but Paisley will not back down.  Not only does she need the money to care for her ill father, she knows and loves Savage Wells like no one else.  No one can do the job as well as Paisley and she won't back down until the position is hers.
While Cade and Paisley vie for the job, they have to contend with quirky townspeople, the return of Paisley's ex-fiancé, a threat to the town bank, and most troublesome of all—their growing attraction for one another.  With so much at stake, who will win and who will lose?

The Sheriffs of Savage Wells by Sarah M. Eden is a fun historical romance filled with likable characters, lively banter, and an entertaining storyline.  Sweet and clean, it has a swoony love story at its center that can be savored by readers of all ages.  At 336 pages, the novel is a good 100 pages longer than it needs to be, which bugs a little.  Still, despite the book's unneeded length and the subplot that is too thin to justify it, overall I enjoyed this funny, upbeat romance.  If you're looking for an uplifting read to make you smile, look no further.  You just found it.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of its sequel, Healing Hearts by Sarah M. Eden as well as other proper romances by the same author)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for mild violence

To the FTC, with love:  I bought an e-copy of The Sheriffs of Savage Wells from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive