Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (4)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (11)
Italy (1)
Nepal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)

My Progress:


27 / 51 states. 53% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


18 / 50 books. 36% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 25 books. 76% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 53 books. 75% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 50 books. 58% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


37 / 52 books. 71% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Saturday, March 23, 2013

It's As Fun and Refreshing As A Day at the Lake

 (Images courtesy of Scarletta Press)

Although I read a lot of picture books (thanks to my 4-year-old story lover), I don't review many of them.  So, when the good folks over at Scarletta Press contacted me about taking a look at the titles they've recently published with their Kids imprint, I hesitated.  Then, A Day at the Lake by Stephanie Wallingford and Dawn Rynders (with illustrations by Erica Pelton Villnave) caught my eye.  The cover looked so inviting that I just couldn't resist taking the plunge (pun very much intended).  

With playful, rhyming text and whimsical illustrations, the book brings the excitement of a lake trip to vivid life.  Readers will enjoy following along as three kids spend a memorable day bobbing about in a rowboat, swimming in the clear water, discovering creatures of all kinds, and watching the sun set after a busy, fun-filled day.

A perfect read with which to welcome the warm, summer weather (which we're already experiencing here in the Phoenix area), A Day at the Lake will charm water lovers of all ages.







(Readalikes:  Reminded me a little of In the Small, Small Pond and In the Tall, Tall Grass by Denise Fleming)

Grade:  B

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  G

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of A Day at the Lake from the generous folks at Scarletta Press.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive