Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (4)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (7)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (12)
Greece (1)
Italy (1)
Nepal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


29 / 51 states. 57% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


49 / 53 books. 92% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


31 / 50 books. 62% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


34 / 50 books. 68% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Thursday, August 03, 2017

Love at First Note Strikes Just the Right Chord

(Image from Deseret Book)

Violinist Emma Hill knows that moving back to Asheville, North Carolina, will mean taking a step backward in her flourishing music career.  Since the South is not exactly overrun with eligible Mormon bachelors, the 25-year-old's dating life will likely take a hit as well.  Family's worth it, though, and Emma's is struggling.  The effects of her mother's MS are taking a toll on her parents, while her younger sister—also a talented violinist—is threatening to quit music altogether.  Emma wants to be there to help, even if her folks insist they're fine.

http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/p/lds-authors.htmlTo Emma's surprise, Asheville is not as RM deficient as she thought it would be.  In fact, a very good-looking specimen has just moved into the apartment next door.  Not only is Elliott Hart hot, but he's also humble and kind.  And a musician to boot.  With a large YouTube following, the 26-year-old pianist is a minor celebrity—minus the inflated ego.  In fact, he could not be more perfect.  With all she and Elliott have in common, Emma expects their hearts to fall into perfect harmony.  

Except, they don't.

Why is Elliott rebuffing Emma's every (admittedly clumsy) move?  How can she convince him she's serious Eternal Companion material and not just another star struck fan?  Will the two ever make beautiful music together?  Or has Emma struck too many wrong notes with the man she's coming to love most desperately?

www.whitneyawards.comI don't read a lot of them, but I do love me a fun, swoony rom com.  It has to be done right, though, and Love at First Note by Jenny Proctor definitely struck a chord.  Yes, it skims on plot.  Still, the novel is light, sweet, and humorous, just as it should be.  As a bonus, the characters have depth to them; the story is engaging; and the tone is upbeat.  It's a cute, clean romance.  Easy to read, easy to love.  Which I did.  This is the first book I've read by Proctor, but Love at First Note convinced me that it won't be the last.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of LDS romances by Melanie Jacobson and Brittany Larsen)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for mild sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-copy of Love at First Note from the generous folks at Covenant via those on the Whitney Awards Committee for contest judging purposes.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive