Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


9 / 30 books. 30% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont (1)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (6)
- France (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


16 / 51 states. 31% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


37 / 50 books. 74% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


30 / 52 books. 58% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


22 / 40 books. 55% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 26.2 miles. 84% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


19 / 100 books. 19% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


45 / 104 books. 43% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


36 / 52 books. 69% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


40 / 165 books. 24% done!
Wednesday, May 04, 2016

Southern Family Drama Enjoyable Despite Predictable Plot

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Still guilt-ridden over her part in the accident that left her sister wheelchair-bound, 30-year-old Eleanor Murray spends her days helping Eve perform the tasks she can no longer do for herself.  Eleanor knows she shouldn't feel jealous of her disabled sister, but she does.  As beautiful as ever, Eve is married to Glen, a good man who works hard to support her.  She's also expecting the couple's first child.  With no real life of her own, Eleanor can't help but be envious.  Especially since she's loved Glen ever since she first met him.  Living in the same house as her sister and brother-in-law makes the situation even more torturous.

When Eleanor is offered the chance to work as a part-time companion for an elderly woman, she jumps at the opportunity.  Not only is the money too good to pass up, but the job will give her the opportunity to return to Edisto Island, the magical place where she spent her childhood.  Dealing with 90-year-old Helena Szarka won't be easy, though.  The cantankerous old woman obviously doesn't want Eleanor around.  Intrigued by the secrets Eleanor knows Helena harbors, she vows to get to the heart of the old woman's bitterness.  But will shocking revelations tear apart the people Eleanor's coming to love?  And what of her own family?  Will she ever find her own happiness?  Or will she forever live in the shadow of a sister who eclipses her even from a wheelchair?  

I've read most of Karen White's novels, but somehow The Time Between (2014) escaped my attention.  Until now.  Like the author's other books, this one offers a multi-layered family saga with a gentle Southern setting, empathetic characters, and an intriguing mystery.  The story doesn't offer a lot in the way of originality.  Or surprises, as I saw the twists coming from a mile away.  Still, The Time Between is a satisfying read that's compelling in spite of its predictability.  If you enjoy Southern family dramas, definitely check out Karen White.  This particular novel isn't my favorite of hers, but I've enjoyed all the ones I've read.

(Readalikes:  The premise reminds me of Kate Morton's novels.  The style is vintage Karen White.)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild violence; brief, non-graphic sex; and sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love: Another library fine find
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Swimming in a Sea of Stars by Julie Wright

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Tobacco Wives by Adele Myer



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive