Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


6 / 30 books. 20% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (4)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


9 / 51 states. 18% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


8 / 50 books. 16% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 50 books. 50% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


22 / 52 books. 42% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


18 / 40 books. 45% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


3 / 25 books. 12% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 26.2 miles. 46% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 100 books. 12% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


27 / 104 books. 26% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


26 / 52 books. 50% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


26 / 165 books. 16% done!
Tuesday, March 07, 2017

Eden's Newest Regency Romance Full of Author's Trademark Warmth and Wit (With a Giveaway!)

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/p/lds-authors.htmlWith Napoleon destroying her beloved Spain, 19-year-old Mariposa Thornton flees her native land with only her elderly abuela in tow.  Before she left, her English father instructed the scattered family to reunite at his ancestral home.  He died before being able to give them more detailed directions.  Mariposa has fought her way to England, but now she's lost.  Somewhere in this vast land, her mother and young brother are hiding from a vicious family enemy.  How can she find them in a large country without drawing unwanted attention to the Thorntons' desperate plight?

Mariposa hatches a bold—probably ridiculous—plan to get help from Jason Jonquil, a London solicitor.  She can't tell him the true reasons behind her request.  In fact, the success of her mission depends on playing an exaggerated role, one that will camouflage her true identity and purpose.
As the son of an earl and a man striving to become a fine gentleman in his own right, Jason feels duty-bound to help the damsel in distress.  He can't make heads or tails of silly Mariposa.  Jason can't quite believe she's as ditzy as she seems, but then why the show?  The more he gets to know the infuriating female, the more intrigued he becomes.  Soon, Jason finds himself traipsing across the globe to help her find her family.  Along the way, he finds—inexplicably enough—that he might just be losing his heart to the enigmatic señorita

If you've ever spent time in the company of Sarah M. Eden, you know she's a petite woman who's big on spunk, humor, and charm.  If you've read her books, you know her sparkling personality comes through very strongly in her stories.  Her newest, A Fine Gentleman, is no exception.  The Regency Romance exudes Eden's trademark warmth and wit.  Yes, it deals with serious subjects (war, loss, mental instability, etc.), but overall the novel provides a light, fun, romantic read.  Although it reaches a very predictable Happily Ever After, there's enough substance in A Fine Gentleman to keep the story interesting.  You won't find a lot of originality here, nor will you be blindsided by shocking twists in the tale.  But, if you're looking for a bright, swoony story that's clean and ultimately satisfying, this one should serve you very well.  

(Readalikes:  Reminds me a little bit of Lady Emma's Campaign by Jennifer Moore)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:

  
for scenes of peril and mild sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of A Fine Gentleman from the generous folks at Covenant Communications in return for my participation in the book's blog tour.  Thank you! 

--

Would you like to get your hands on your own copy of A Fine Gentleman?  How about a $25 Amazon gift card?  How about both?  Fill out the Rafflecopter widget below to enter the giveaway: a Rafflecopter giveaway
 

Follow along on the blog tour for A Fine Gentleman:
March 10thhttp://booksaresanity.blogspot.com/http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/,
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive