Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


8 / 30 books. 27% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (1)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (4)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


12 / 51 states. 24% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 50 books. 18% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


14 / 50 books. 28% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


28 / 50 books. 56% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 52 books. 46% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 40 books. 50% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


14 / 26.2 miles. 53% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


13 / 100 books. 13% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


30 / 104 books. 29% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


28 / 52 books. 54% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


28 / 165 books. 17% done!
Wednesday, July 04, 2018

Alaskan Romantic Suspense Novel a Better-Than-Expected Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

A decade ago, Bailey Craig left tiny Yancey, Alaska, behind forever.  With a hard-earned reputation for being rebellious and easy, she had to flee in order to start over.  Now known as religious and serious, the 28-year-old college professor still has no intention of ever returning.  It's only when her beloved aunt dies in a plane crash that Bailey even considers it. As she reluctantly boards a plane bound for The Last Frontier, she vows to stay not one second longer than is absolutely necessary. 

It's been over ten years since Bailey broke Cole McKenna's heart, but he's never forgotten her.  When fate (divine intervention?) brings her back into his life, he's more than a little intrigued.  It's obvious Bailey is not the girl he used to know.  And the woman she appears to have become?  More than a little enticing.  Does Cole dare take the risk of trying to get to know the new Bailey?  Or is that just a sure-fire way to get his heart stomped all over once again?  

When Bailey and Cole are enlisted to help investigate the suspicious deaths of two deep-sea divers, their battered hearts will get a second chance to find healing in the last place they expected to find it ...

Romantic suspense really is not my thing, but in looking for a book set in Alaska for the Literary Escapes Challenge, I came across Submerged by Christian fiction author Dani Pettrey.  With an intriguing premise and lots of positive reviews on Amazon, the novel seemed worth a peek.  And you know what?  It turned out to be a better read than I expected.  Pettrey's prose doesn't exactly sparkle, but it's capable enough.  Her characters are likable, even though there are too many to keep track of and none of them are all that developed or original.  The mystery at the novel's core isn't overly exciting, but it kept me reading.  Yes, the plot got clumsy and far-fetched, but all in all, Submerged is not a bad read.  I especially appreciate its clean content as well as its uplifting messages about forgiveness, faith, and a person's ability to change despite past troubles.  While I probably won't continue with this series, I did end up enjoying Submerged overall.  

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of Submerged from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive