Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (3)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida (1)
- Georgia (2)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (5)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico (1)
- New York (9)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (1)
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota (1)
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (3)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming (1)
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (16)
France (1)
Greece (1)
Ireland (2)
Italy (1)
Malaysia (1)
Nepal (1)
Poland (1)
Portugal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


38 / 51 states. 75% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


65 / 53 books. 123% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 52 books. 83% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


36 / 50 books. 72% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 40 books. 95% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Wednesday, August 02, 2017

Cancun Rom Com Just ... Ridiculous

(Image from Amazon)

http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/p/lds-authors.htmlSeven years ago, the man of Belle Lind's dreams married her college roommate.  So what if Marco Dawson barely knew Belle existed?  She knows the two of them are meant to be together.  When Belle learns that Marco is now divorced and vacationing with his family at a posh Cancun resort, it seems like fate.  The 25-year-old fashion designer isn't afraid to take this chance to finally make Marco hers.  And what more romantic setting could there possibly be than sultry Cancun?

Enter Flynn Dawson, Marco's identical twin.  Flynn's determined to help Marco glue his marriage back together.  And he's not about to let Belle stand in the estranged couple's way.  'Course, Belle has no idea Marco even has a twin brother ... Cue chaos, confusion, and canoodling on a Cancun beach that's getting hotter by the second.  

http://whitneyawards.com/http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/p/arizona-authors.htmlI'm not a big romance reader as you well know, but I don't mind the occasional rom com—as long as it's more cute than silly.  Sadly, How I Met Your Brother by Janette Rallison is just plain ole ridiculous.  I hate to rag on Rallison, as she is a wonderful, generous person who has written some novels that I've really loved (check out her very fun My Fair Godmother series), but this novel is definitely not up to par.  It is a clean, lighthearted, easy read that will not tax your brain (like, at all), so there's that.  On the other hand, we have a childish, manipulative, fickle heroine; shallow, one-dimensional minor characters; a plot that gets more absurd as it goes; and dull, tell-y prose.  So, yeah.  If it hadn't been required reading for the Whitney category I was judging, I wouldn't have made it past the novel's first page.  At least it was a quick read.

(Readalikes: The book has been promoted as Sabrina meets While You Were Sleeping, which I guess I can kinda sorta see ...)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-copy of How I Met Your Brother from the Whitney Awards Committee for judging purposes.  Thank you! 
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive