Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Wednesday, August 02, 2017

Cancun Rom Com Just ... Ridiculous

(Image from Amazon)

http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/p/lds-authors.htmlSeven years ago, the man of Belle Lind's dreams married her college roommate.  So what if Marco Dawson barely knew Belle existed?  She knows the two of them are meant to be together.  When Belle learns that Marco is now divorced and vacationing with his family at a posh Cancun resort, it seems like fate.  The 25-year-old fashion designer isn't afraid to take this chance to finally make Marco hers.  And what more romantic setting could there possibly be than sultry Cancun?

Enter Flynn Dawson, Marco's identical twin.  Flynn's determined to help Marco glue his marriage back together.  And he's not about to let Belle stand in the estranged couple's way.  'Course, Belle has no idea Marco even has a twin brother ... Cue chaos, confusion, and canoodling on a Cancun beach that's getting hotter by the second.  

http://whitneyawards.com/http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/p/arizona-authors.htmlI'm not a big romance reader as you well know, but I don't mind the occasional rom com—as long as it's more cute than silly.  Sadly, How I Met Your Brother by Janette Rallison is just plain ole ridiculous.  I hate to rag on Rallison, as she is a wonderful, generous person who has written some novels that I've really loved (check out her very fun My Fair Godmother series), but this novel is definitely not up to par.  It is a clean, lighthearted, easy read that will not tax your brain (like, at all), so there's that.  On the other hand, we have a childish, manipulative, fickle heroine; shallow, one-dimensional minor characters; a plot that gets more absurd as it goes; and dull, tell-y prose.  So, yeah.  If it hadn't been required reading for the Whitney category I was judging, I wouldn't have made it past the novel's first page.  At least it was a quick read.

(Readalikes: The book has been promoted as Sabrina meets While You Were Sleeping, which I guess I can kinda sorta see ...)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-copy of How I Met Your Brother from the Whitney Awards Committee for judging purposes.  Thank you! 
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive