Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 50 books. 84% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


33.2 / 26.2 miles. 127% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 100 books. 21% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


56 / 104 books. 54% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


57 / 165 books. 35% done!
Monday, July 19, 2021

Second Good Girl Novel Another Engaging Mystery/Thriller

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for Good Girl, Bad Blood, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from its predecessor, A Good Girl's Guide to Murder.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.  

After all the chaos created by her last foray into amateur detecting, 18-year-old Pippa Fitz-Amobi is done with both sleuthing and podcasting.  She doesn't need the drama or the danger.  Instead, she's concentrating on hanging out with her sweet boyfriend, Ravi Singh, and getting ready to move on to college at Columbia.  Then, a man goes missing after a community memorial honoring the sixth anniversary of the deaths of Sal Singh and Andie Bell.  Although Jamie Reynolds is 24 and known for taking off unexpectedly, his little brother, Pip's good friend, is worried about him.  When Connor asks Pip for help finding him, she really can't say no.  Especially since the police aren't taking the disappearance seriously.  Once more, Pip is on the hunt and on the air.

Pip's investigation soon takes a dark turn, putting her in harm's way once again.  What happened to Jamie Reynolds?  Can Pip solve the mystery?

I enjoyed A Good Girl's Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson, so I was all in for a second book.  Like its predecessor, Good Girl, Bad Blood uses transcripts of Pip's podcasts and interviews as well as her case notes to flesh out the story of her search for Jamie Reynolds.  What emerges is a tense, engrossing thriller that kept me glued to the page.  In addition to a compelling mystery, the novel offers a cast of warm, likable characters; an engaging, upbeat vibe (despite its grim subject matter); and a heroine who's fun and root-worthy in her earnest adorkable-ness.  Sure, the idea of everyone being willing to spill their deepest, darkest secrets to a teenage sleuth is a bit far-fetched, but still...I enjoyed this absorbing yarn that kept me reading and guessing throughout.  Not surprisingly, I'm very much looking forward to As Good As Dead (available August 5, 2021).  I definitely want to know what's going to happen next to the always-appealing, ever-intrepid Pippa Fitz-Amobi!

(Readalikes:  A Good Girl's Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson as well as other YA mysteries, including those by Karen M. McManus and Ashley Elston)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, blood/gore, disturbing subject matter, and depictions of underage drinking and illegal drug use (marijuana)

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive