Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Tuesday, March 15, 2016

Small Town Secrets Novel Fails to Satisfy

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Although a newcomer in town, little Wedeskyull, New York, feels like home for Nora Hamilton.  As a restorer of old houses, she's especially happy puttering around hers.  She wishes the home was filled with children, but, for now, she's content with her police officer husband and the possibility of a family in the future.  What Nora could never imagine—not for a second—is Brendan bringing all their dreams to a screaming halt by hanging himself in the attic.  She knew he'd been on edge lately, but that just went with the law enforcement territory, right?  What had driven her stable husband to suicide?  And how could she not have known he was struggling that terribly?

From the first, Brendan's death feels suspicious to his grieving widow.  The more she expresses her doubts, however, the more strongly she's shut down by his friends and colleagues.  They warn her to let it go, but she can't.  Especially when she finds troubling clues that seem to confirm her suspicions.  Then, there's a long ago incident that resulted in the tragic death of Brendan's brother.  Are the two cases related somehow?  Or is Nora's imagination running wild, the result of her all-consuming grief?  As things heat up in a small town with big secrets, she needs answers and fast.  Before her questions are silenced with another "accidental" death—her own.  

I'm always drawn to a good small town secrets novel.  Especially one that is done well.  Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman fits the bill, at least as far as the former goes.  As for the latter, well, the book leaves quite a bit to be desired.  Although the story is engrossing, it's peopled with unlikable characters, far-fetched situations, and a whole lot of unanswered questions.  Nora seems especially naive and weak.  Her character doesn't grow much throughout the novel either.  Like I said, Cover of Snow leaves a whole lot of loose ends hanging, making for a frustrating reading experience.  So, while I found this book compelling enough to finish, in the end it just irritated the heck out of me.  Needless to say, I probably won't pick up another Milchman thriller.

(Readalikes:  I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, and blood/gore

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive