Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 100 books. 21% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


59 / 165 books. 36% done!
Tuesday, March 15, 2016

Small Town Secrets Novel Fails to Satisfy

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Although a newcomer in town, little Wedeskyull, New York, feels like home for Nora Hamilton.  As a restorer of old houses, she's especially happy puttering around hers.  She wishes the home was filled with children, but, for now, she's content with her police officer husband and the possibility of a family in the future.  What Nora could never imagine—not for a second—is Brendan bringing all their dreams to a screaming halt by hanging himself in the attic.  She knew he'd been on edge lately, but that just went with the law enforcement territory, right?  What had driven her stable husband to suicide?  And how could she not have known he was struggling that terribly?

From the first, Brendan's death feels suspicious to his grieving widow.  The more she expresses her doubts, however, the more strongly she's shut down by his friends and colleagues.  They warn her to let it go, but she can't.  Especially when she finds troubling clues that seem to confirm her suspicions.  Then, there's a long ago incident that resulted in the tragic death of Brendan's brother.  Are the two cases related somehow?  Or is Nora's imagination running wild, the result of her all-consuming grief?  As things heat up in a small town with big secrets, she needs answers and fast.  Before her questions are silenced with another "accidental" death—her own.  

I'm always drawn to a good small town secrets novel.  Especially one that is done well.  Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman fits the bill, at least as far as the former goes.  As for the latter, well, the book leaves quite a bit to be desired.  Although the story is engrossing, it's peopled with unlikable characters, far-fetched situations, and a whole lot of unanswered questions.  Nora seems especially naive and weak.  Her character doesn't grow much throughout the novel either.  Like I said, Cover of Snow leaves a whole lot of loose ends hanging, making for a frustrating reading experience.  So, while I found this book compelling enough to finish, in the end it just irritated the heck out of me.  Needless to say, I probably won't pick up another Milchman thriller.

(Readalikes:  I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, and blood/gore

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive