Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Wednesday, February 01, 2017

Sweet Parisian Romance Uplifting and Enjoyable

(Image from author's website)

As an American in Paris, Chastity Whitmore finds herself charmed on a regular basis.  Just not by Viscount Charles Jean Anne Monorie de Brase.  The arrogant aristocrat thinks he can walk all over people just because he's wealthy, influential, and—okay, she'll admit it—dashing.  Chastity refuses to let herself fall under the viscount's spell.  As his son's English teacher, she's more concerned about Louis de Brase, especially since the boy seems to be ignored by his important father.  When the viscount pooh-poohs her concerns, Chastity is outraged.  Just who does the man think he is?

It's not until a tragedy brings them together that Chastity gets a peek beneath the viscount's slick veneer.  At the same time her impression of Charles is changing, she's becoming increasingly worried about Louis.  The teenager has gotten himself mixed up in a dangerous trade with men more vicious and calculating than he can possibly imagine.  Can Chastity convince the viscount to act in time to save his son?

The closer Chastity gets to Charles, the more attracted to him she becomes.  She knows a romance between them could never work.  With her ex-boyfriend begging her to get back together, she's confused.  Chastity wants to do what's best for herself and her young son, but what is that?  Her heart's already been shattered once—is she willing to give love another chance?  Or will she remain forever alone in the world's most romantic city?

The Viscount of Maisons-Laffitte by Jennie Goutet is a modern love story with a strong Regency influence.  Although it deals with contemporary issues, at its heart the novel is a sweet, clean romance about two people with broken hearts who find healing in each other.  My favorite part about the book, in fact, is its hopeful overtones.  While the love story at its core doesn't offer anything unique, I do wish the plot had focused more keenly on the romance, less on drug dealing, art heists, and nefarious Parisians.  Too many subplots make the tale feel chaotic and melodramatic.  Still, I remained interested in the story throughout.  Yes, I wanted stronger characterization.  Yes, I longed for a more atmospheric setting.  Yes, I would have liked a tighter plot.  On the whole, though, The Viscount of Maisons-Laffitte provides a pleasant, uplifting read that will be appreciated by those who enjoy clean, predictable romance in which two deserving people finally get their longed-for happily ever afters.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I don't read a lot of romance.  Ideas?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and depictions of illegal drug use/drug dealing

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of The Viscount of Maisons-Laffitte from the lovely and generous Jennie Goutet.  Thank you!

Happy New Year (Again)!


I know it's February 1st—not January 1st—but since I finally finished reviewing all the books I read in 2016, it feels like the blog is now ready to officially step into 2017.  So, Happy New Year!  

Thanks for your patience over the last few weeks while I posted 2-3 reviews per day.  I know how annoying that can be, so thank you for not just hanging in there, but also for reading my posts and commenting on them.  I so appreciate it!  Rest assured that we will now be going back to our regularly-scheduled programming with only a few reviews a week.  I'm going to try to stay on top of things better this year than I did last so I won't have to spend January 2018 catching up on 2017's reviews.  Hold me to that resolution, okay?

I've read 13 1/2 books this month and liked the majority of them.  So, lots of good things to come.  Stay tuned!

What have you read so far this year?  Anything of which I should take note?  I love reading recommendations, so give me your best ones 😀📚



Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive