Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont (1)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (7)
- France (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


18 / 51 states. 35% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


20 / 50 books. 40% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 50 books. 76% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 52 books. 63% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 40 books. 57% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


24 / 26.2 miles. 92% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


19 / 100 books. 19% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


49 / 104 books. 47% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


44 / 165 books. 27% done!
Thursday, November 02, 2017

Searching for Ways to Make Christmas More Christ-Centered? Look No Further. (With a Giveaway!)

(Image from Covenant)

 "Time, that precious commodity, is what all families want us to give them, and time is what our Savior wants us to give Him" (2).

http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/p/lds-authors.htmlWith the above quote, author Christie Gardiner introduces, Our Family Christmas a low-stress guide that aims to help families make their holiday celebrations both more meaningful and more spiritual.  With a section devoted to each day from December 1st to the 25th, it's an advent calendar in book form.  Each day, Gardiner offers a scripture or quote plus a short story, thought, or anecdote that introduces a different Christmas-y topic.  Then, she gives suggestions for implementing the principle being taught (giving to the poor, sharing the light of Christ, understanding the symbols of the season, etc.) by suggesting fun, easy family activities (crafts, baking, games, etc.).  With busy families in mind, she divides the ideas into those that can be done in 1 hour, 20 minutes, and 5 minutes.  Each day also gets its own recipe, journaling prompts, and a Christmas hymn/carol.  

Gardiner acknowledges the reality of busy, stressed-out families by encouraging each to do what works for them, when it works for them.  She emphasizes that Our Family Christmas is a collection of ideas, not a stringent program designed to make parents feel even more burdened during an already overwhelming season.  She does testify, however, that focusing on simple, Christ-centered activities like those suggested in the book during the Christmas season will bring families closer together while blessing them with a peaceful, more satisfying holiday experience. 

Beautifully illustrated with bright, whimsical Norman Rockwell (and Rockwell-ish) paintings, Our Family Christmas would make a lovely pre-holiday gift.  If you're already frazzled with Christmas anxiety, do yourself a favor and read through this lovely book.  The ideas within are reassuring in their simplicity.  Nothing elaborate is required in order to center your holiday more firmly on the things that really matter—honoring the Savior, generous service, family closeness, and spreading joy.  Our Family Christmas keeps it real with small, doable suggestions that can have a large, lasting impact on your family.  If you're wondering how to make your holiday more meaningful this year, start with giving this book a look-see.  At the very least, it will inspire you to remember the reason for the season.  

Readalikes:  Um, I can't think of anything.  Can you?

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Our Family Christmas from the generous folks at Covenant.  Thank you!

--


Interested in more opinions of Our Family Christmas?  Follow along on the book's blog tour by clicking on the links below:

*Nov. 3rd: http://sweetlymadejustforyou.com/blog/, http://www.wishfulendings.com/, http://brooklynberrydesigns.com/, http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/

Want to win a copy of Our Family Christmas for your very own?  Enter to win the book, plus a $25 Amazon gift card by filling out this Rafflecopter:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

0 bookworm(s) said...:

Post a Comment

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Swimming in a Sea of Stars by Julie Wright

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Tobacco Wives by Adele Myer



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive