Thursday, November 02, 2017

Searching for Ways to Make Christmas More Christ-Centered? Look No Further. (With a Giveaway!)

(Image from Covenant)

 "Time, that precious commodity, is what all families want us to give them, and time is what our Savior wants us to give Him" (2).

http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/p/lds-authors.htmlWith the above quote, author Christie Gardiner introduces, Our Family Christmas a low-stress guide that aims to help families make their holiday celebrations both more meaningful and more spiritual.  With a section devoted to each day from December 1st to the 25th, it's an advent calendar in book form.  Each day, Gardiner offers a scripture or quote plus a short story, thought, or anecdote that introduces a different Christmas-y topic.  Then, she gives suggestions for implementing the principle being taught (giving to the poor, sharing the light of Christ, understanding the symbols of the season, etc.) by suggesting fun, easy family activities (crafts, baking, games, etc.).  With busy families in mind, she divides the ideas into those that can be done in 1 hour, 20 minutes, and 5 minutes.  Each day also gets its own recipe, journaling prompts, and a Christmas hymn/carol.  

Gardiner acknowledges the reality of busy, stressed-out families by encouraging each to do what works for them, when it works for them.  She emphasizes that Our Family Christmas is a collection of ideas, not a stringent program designed to make parents feel even more burdened during an already overwhelming season.  She does testify, however, that focusing on simple, Christ-centered activities like those suggested in the book during the Christmas season will bring families closer together while blessing them with a peaceful, more satisfying holiday experience. 

Beautifully illustrated with bright, whimsical Norman Rockwell (and Rockwell-ish) paintings, Our Family Christmas would make a lovely pre-holiday gift.  If you're already frazzled with Christmas anxiety, do yourself a favor and read through this lovely book.  The ideas within are reassuring in their simplicity.  Nothing elaborate is required in order to center your holiday more firmly on the things that really matter—honoring the Savior, generous service, family closeness, and spreading joy.  Our Family Christmas keeps it real with small, doable suggestions that can have a large, lasting impact on your family.  If you're wondering how to make your holiday more meaningful this year, start with giving this book a look-see.  At the very least, it will inspire you to remember the reason for the season.  

Readalikes:  Um, I can't think of anything.  Can you?

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Our Family Christmas from the generous folks at Covenant.  Thank you!

--


Interested in more opinions of Our Family Christmas?  Follow along on the book's blog tour by clicking on the links below:

*Nov. 3rd: http://sweetlymadejustforyou.com/blog/, http://www.wishfulendings.com/, http://brooklynberrydesigns.com/, http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/

Want to win a copy of Our Family Christmas for your very own?  Enter to win the book, plus a $25 Amazon gift card by filling out this Rafflecopter:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin