Wednesday, November 01, 2017

Regency Romance + Christmas Setting = Warm, Charming Combination

(Image from Deseret Book)

http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/p/lds-authors.htmlPeanut butter and jelly.  Cookies and milk.  Hot chocolate and marshmallows.  Some things just go together, you know?  I'm fairly new to Regency romance books, so I've never really considered what a sweet combination could result from pairing the genre with magical holiday settings.  If Christmas Grace, a collection of Regency love stories by various authors, is any indication, I'd call the mixture a very pleasant one indeed. 
Christmas Grace, a new collection of holiday tales by beloved LDS romance writers, includes four selections:

"Let Nothing You Dismay" by Jennifer Moore tells the story of Ben Talbot and Camilla "Millie" Prince, childhood sweethearts whose elopement ends with a tragic accident.  Reunited after eight years with no contact, the former fiancés have a second chance at love.  Are they brave enough to take it?

"Christmas at Canterwood" by Krista Lynne Jensen stars Julia Seaton, a governess who's taxed with keeping up the spirits of the children in her care while their parents are away from home at Christmastime.  When the handsome but too-serious vicar gets roped into Julia's plan to distract the kids, unexpected sparks start to fly. 

"Winter Angel" by Anita Stansfield concerns Mariah Pritchard, the 22-year-old daughter of a London baker.  When she encounters a poor, beaten man during her rounds of distributing bread to the homeless, she's surprised to discover he's a gentleman in disguise.  She's even more shocked by her heart's reaction to the down-on-his-luck stranger.

"Christmas Grace" by Chalon Linton begins with a carriage accident that brings a young widow into the care of a kind stranger.  When a storm strands Grace Hershaw at the estate of handsome, cheerful Gordon Burgess, the two work together to plan a holiday fete.  Will Gordon's charms manage to capture the widow's attention, let alone her heart?  

While I enjoyed some of the stories more than others ("Christmas at Canterwood" is my favorite), all four are filled with enough charm, hope, and love to warm even the coldest heart.  Short and sweet, they make for light but uplifting reading that is especially well suited for the busy holiday season.  A satisfying collection, this book would make a fun gift for anyone who enjoys clean, happy endings-guaranteed Regency love stories.  If you are looking for a quick, Christmas-y read to get you into the holiday spirit, look no further.  You've found it.

Readalikes:  Hm, this is the first Regency Christmas tale I've ever read, so I'm not sure what to compare it to ... Any ideas?

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for a small amount of violence

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Christmas Grace from the generous folks at Covenant.  Thank you!

--

Interested in more opinions of Christmas Grace?  Follow along on the book's blog tour by visiting the stops below:

*Oct. 27th: http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/, http://reviewsfromtheheart.blogspot.com/, http://www.blogginboutbooks.com -- a little late, oops!

4 comments:

  1. I like the idea of this blend but I’m not into short stories. :( If I find a full length book that blends Christmas and Regency romance I’m all in.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, I'm not usually into short stories either since they always seem to lack depth and development. These were light and fun and fast, but I still prefer novels. There have to be Christmas Regency romances out there, I've just never come across one ...

      Delete
  2. Short stories aren't normally my thing but I like holiday reads. Glad this was a satisfying bunch for you!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I wish I had enough time to read them all!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin