Tuesday, October 06, 2015

If She Writes It, I Will Read ... (with a Giveaway!)

(Image from Amazon)

The last thing Hannah Becker needs is another big brother.  She's already got Dave hovering and sticking his nose in her business—even if he does it from Qatar via Skype.  She definitely doesn't need Dave's best buddy, Will Hallerman, babysitting her from his apartment down the hall.  Hannah wouldn't mind the handsome rocket scientist keeping an eye on her if he did it not out of duty, but because he had (finally!) fallen in love with her.  Ever since she started pining for him at thirteen, Hannah has longed for Will to see her as something other than a kid sister.  If only he would open his eyes, he'd discover that she's become a smart, successful, 28-year-old woman, who just happens to be perfect for him.  If only.

Will and Hannah have such a comfortable, easy relationship that he turns to her for help when he decides to use an Internet dating site to find himself a wife.  Seething on the inside, Hannah does everything she can to sabotage Project Marriage.  Everything except telling him how she really feels.  Been there, done that—with disastrous results.  As all of Hannah's plans fail miserably, she begins to wonder if she's the one standing in the way of his happiness.  Is it time to put her Will obsession to rest, allowing both of them to move on?  Her own Internet dating exploits have landed her with the perfect rebound guy.  Can Hannah's heart beat for anyone but Will?  Or is she doomed to watch the man she's loved for fifteen years walk down the aisle with someone else?  

Some authors love to keep readers guessing by experimenting with different genres, characters, and themes.  That's great.  But, there's something to be said for a writer who sticks with what works.  That's one of the things I love about Melanie Jacobson.  I can always count on her for a fun, upbeat romance that will make me laugh and swoon in equal measure.  Always Will, the author's newest, is no exception.  Like all of Jacobson's heroines, Hannah is no shrinking violet.  She's a smart, successful professional who's proud of both her brains and her beauty.  Not to mention her physique, which she maintains with a rigorous running schedule.  While Hannah's confidence and good humor make her both likable and admirable, her self-absorption gets annoying.  Will's constant thoughtfulness toward Hannah shines a harsh, contrasting light on how little she does for him (or anyone else for that matter).  Still, I enjoyed the duo's warm friendship, with its realistic irritants and slow-burning tension.  If felt real.  The banter between the two is especially engaging.  Plot-wise, the story isn't very original, but it does take a turn I didn't see coming.  I appreciated that little twist because it made the whole story more authentic, more mature, more true-to-life.  All in all, then, I found Always Will to be an easy, fun romance that sparkles with the typical wit and warmth I have come to expect (and always find) in  a Jacobson novel.  This is what keeps me coming back to her books.  I've said this before and I'll say it again:  If Melanie Jacobson writes it, I'll read it.   

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of Melanie Jacobson's other novels:  The List; Not My Type; Twitterpated; Painting Kisses; Second Chances; and Smart Move

Grade:

If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for mild sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Always Will from the generous folks at Covenant in exchange for my participation in the book's virtual tour.  Thank you!

--

If you (like me) are a big Melanie Jacobson fan, you'll love the following extras ...

Follow along on the Always Will blog tour:


Join in on the book's online launch party:  https://www.facebook.com/events/688465267956486/

Enter to win a copy of Always Will and a $25 Amazon gift card:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

5 comments:

  1. 'Member that time I got an A from you? I'm totally going to do that again some time. (Loved the review. This was a fun book to write.)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. LOL -- I'm a pretty tough customer :) PAINTING KISSES is still my fave, but I have no doubt you'll outdo yourself and earn many more As from me!

      Delete
  2. I'm guessing I'd love this stuff! Entering giveaway....

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sounds adorable. I've not heard of this author. I'll have to check her out now.

    ReplyDelete
  4. My copy came today! She's an auto read for me too.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin