Monday, April 15, 2013

The Bachelor in Print? It's Jacobson, So I'll Take the Chance ... (with a Giveaway!)

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Louisa Gibson's as eager to settle down as any other 24-year-old LDS girl.  The problem is finding a guy who wants the same thing.  Which isn't easy in a place like Huntington Beach, California, where the surfer vibe's so mellow that even the most eligible Mormon bachelors don't waste their energy on anything as stressful as dating.  Hanging out in groups of friends is the easier, low-pressure alternative.  Lou's sick of this too-casual attitude toward soul mate searching—and she's going to do something about it.  She's got a plan that will not only get her new marketing firm off the ground, but also bring back the lost art of dating, something that's going to make a whole lot of single girls very, very happy.
Lou's put everything she's got into producing The Mormon Bachelor, a reality dating web series that will do what the popular t.v. show does—Latter-day Saint style.  If her girlfriends' enthusiasm for the project is any indication, the thing will go viral in no time.  At least that's what Lou's praying will happen; otherwise, she'll be living in her Audi.  

When the star of Lou's show bails on her at the last minute, she panics.  In desperation, she turns to Nick Westman, the drop-dead gorgeous actor who also happens to be the most shallow man on the planet.  And her ex-boyfriend.  With Nick as the Mormon Bachelor, the series will be a guaranteed hit, bringing Lou's marketing firm the attention it needs for a profitable launch.  Everything's turning out perfectly—until Lou's forced to become a contestant on her own show.  She already knows Nick Westman is Mr. Wrong, so why does he suddenly feel so right?  And how can she even think such a thing when the success of her big project depends on him finding love with someone else?  With everything riding on her roller coaster feelings, Lou's got to get a grip.  And fast.  

I rarely watch t.v. and when I do indulge, you better believe it's not in "reality" romance shows a lá The Bachelor (I prefer more sophisticated programming—you know, like Hoarders).  So, when I read the plot summary for Melanie Jacobson's newest LDS romance, I hesitated.  But only for a second.  It's Jacobson, after all, and when I said I'd read anything she wrote, I meant it.  Even if it's The Bachelor in print (gag).  And guess what?  Second Chances proved worthy of my trust.  The novel's vintage Jacobson—in other words, upbeat, funny and heart-meltingly (yes, of course, that's a real word) romantic.  I'm not always wild about Jacobson's I'm-beautiful-and-I-know-it heroines (because, after all, there's a very fine line between confident and cocky), but I liked Lou enough to root for her triumph, both professionally and romantically.  Is our girl victorious?  I'm not going to tell you (although you can probably figure it out for yourself), I'm just going to guarantee that you'll enjoy the ride.  I always do when Jacobson's at the wheel.  
 
(Readalikes:  Reminds me of Melanie Jacobson's other novels—The List; Twitterpated; Not My Type; and Smart Move; also of Countdown to Love by Julie N. Ford)

Grade:  B

If this were a a movie, it would be rated:  PG for mild sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of Second Chances from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.   

**********

It's okay if you totally skipped over my review so you could get down here, to the good part.  I'll forgive you.  I'll also make this super easy on you:  If you'd like a chance to win a copy of Second Chances for your very own, leave a comment on this post telling me you want to enter.  You must also leave a valid e-mail address so that I can contact you if you win.  The contest will end on April 30th.  Good luck!

**********

27 comments:

  1. Ooh, pick me!
    teen26119 (at) mypacks (dot) net

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great review - thanks for posting and now I would love to read this book. Please enter me in the drawing.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Great review - you sold me and I am a sucker for a good romance. I would like to read this book, please enter me in the drawing.
    dmiller@norwood.k12.ma.us

    ReplyDelete
  4. I would love to enter - thanks for making it easy!
    Melanie Jacobson is one of those awesomely fantastic authors I don't hesitate to buy in paperback - it's even better to share with friends! emfawcett@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  5. I have loved all of Melanie's previous books and can't wait for this one! Thanks for your review!
    bgh(at)byu(dot)net

    ReplyDelete
  6. I've yet to read any of Jacobson's books, and i'm always up for a good clean romantic adventure. Enter me in to Win!
    mindylurocks@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  7. awesome giveaway!! thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  8. As it turns out, I have a few copies of this book. I'm just dropping in to say 1. Thank you and 2. One day you will give me an A. One day...

    ReplyDelete
  9. I love Melanie's books!! Pick me pick me!! PLEASE?? laderalady@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  10. I too love Melanie Jacobson's books and I am excited to read this one too. I would love to win a copy from your rocktastic blog. Thanks for the review. alysonwonderland747@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  11. I have read her other books and loved. It would be great if I won this. jenjermad@hotmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  12. Enter me please! Thank you.
    kathom6@msn.com

    ReplyDelete
  13. I love her books and I would absolutely love to read Second Chances. I just dropped by Deseret Book today and debated buying it! Darned law school budget! (: Thanks for giving such reliable/great reviews!!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I want one! :) ivyskinner@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  15. I just read my first book by Melanie Jacobson. I would love to read another! Bacarter630@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  16. I would love to read this. Bacarter630@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  17. This book sounds so great!

    TaraTagli at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  18. I am SO in! Sounds like a good read...

    ReplyDelete
  19. I wouldn't mind giving it a try, since I'm not usually an LDS fiction fan, but you recommend her so highly. librariansbook@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  20. I'd love to win this book as I just finished reading the list and really enjoyed it. So count me in. gamila.walrus @ gamail. com

    ReplyDelete
  21. AAHHH!! I want to read this book! An LDS bachelor?! Sounds like fun. I actually don't watch The Bachelor because it gets too raunchy, but I'd love to read this cleaner version. :) I haven't read any of Melanie's books, but I definitely need to. cleanteenfiction at gmail dot com
    Clean Teen Fiction
    Clean Adult Fiction

    ReplyDelete
  22. Ooooh this sounds fun! I haven't watched The Bachelor either but this sounds cute. Count me in!

    ReplyDelete
  23. I've enjoyed most of Melanie's books and would love to snag her newest. Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  24. Love Melanie. holtmin at yahoo dot com.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi. I would like a copy. My email address is pamelacornes@ymail.com.

      Delete
  25. I would love to win a copy!! But can I email you my email address if I win? lol

    ReplyDelete
  26. I'd love to enter!! Love this author!

    goober2613@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin