Wednesday, October 07, 2015

Earthbound An Enjoyable Supernatural Thrill Ride

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

As the only survivor of a plane crash that killed 255 people (including her parents), Tavia Michaels is confused.  Sure, it could be the traumatic brain injury (TBI) talking, but that only explains some of what the 18-year-old is now experiencing.  She sees strange shapes on historic structures, people who seem to flicker, and now, a guy who dresses in Revolutionary War-era clothing appears to be stalking her.  Tavia doesn't know what to make of it all.  Her small circle of confidantes—her guardians, her psychiatrist, and Benson Ryder, the boy who makes her heart beat double-time—doesn't think she's crazy.  Not exactly.  But Tavia's beginning to wonder ...

When Tavia confronts her stalker, Quinn Avery, she's unnerved by the things he says.  Also intrigued.  Desperate for answers, she continues to communicate with him, becoming more and more attracted to the handsome blonde.  After overhearing an alarming phone conversation at her aunt's house, Tavia's convinced Quinn knows exactly what is happening to her.  And that she's in grave danger.  With Benson's help, she flees to Camden, Maine, following the clues the mysterious man has left for her.  As Tavia puts together the pieces of the mind-boggling puzzle that will reveal the answers to all her questions, she finds herself caught not just in a heady, supernatural time warp, but also in a love triangle that is pulling her heart in two different directions.  Can she untangle the mystery of who she really is and what she really wants in time to save the world from imminent disaster?  What about her own life?  What about her heart?

I usually shy away from paranormal YA novels because they all seem to feature the same tired, cookie-cutter plots.  Earthbound by Aprilynne Pike is no exception.  And yet, I didn't hate this first book in the Earthbound series—in fact, I liked it.  With solid prose and a tense, exciting storyline, it kept me engrossed.  Although the tale starts out confusing, it's a good kind of puzzlement, the kind that makes everything more suspenseful.  Earthbound does get melodramatic, insta-lovey, and predictable at times, but overall, I found it to be a compelling page turner.  If you can overlook the been-there-done-that-a-million-times plot summary, Earthbound makes for an enjoyable read.

(Readalikes:  Every other oh-my-gosh-I-can't-believe-I'm-really-a-vampire/mermaid/goddess/witch/angel/devil/dragon/demon slayer, etc. YA book; also the other books in the series, Earthquake and Earthrise)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), mild sexual innuendo/content, and violence

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of Earthbound (in 2013!) from the generous folks at Razorbill (a division of Penguin Random House).  Thank you!

1 comment:

  1. Ha ha ha! I love your read-a-like! Yep! They're all the same but it's funny how they just sometimes are enjoyable anyway.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin