Thursday, March 14, 2019

Savage Wells Series a Satisfying, Swoony Delight

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Note:  While Healing Hearts is more of a companion book than a sequel to its predecessor, The Sheriffs of Savage Wells, reading them out of order may result in spoilers.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.

In the small Western town of Savage Wells, Wyoming, men outnumber women at least 2:1.  Unless he wants to marry a woman old enough to be his grandmother, Gideon MacNamara has to take extreme measures.  As the only doctor for miles around, he's not just lonely but also exhausted from overwork.  Desperate, he sends out a request for a mail-order bride who has nursing experience.  He's not expecting a passionate romance from the union, but at least he can get some help with his bustling medical practice.  

A nurse with a devastating secret she's desperate to keep hidden, Miriam Bricks is grateful for the opportunity to work, even if it is in the middle of nowhere.  When she arrives in Savage Wells, however, she realizes—to her horror—that there's been a terrible mix-up.  Apparently, she's expected to be not just a nurse, but also a wife to a man she's never met!  Her refusal to marry Gideon, a man beloved by the town, makes Miriam an immediate outcast in Savage Wells.  Only Gideon offers her kindness.  He hires her as a nurse, no strings attached.  As the two work together day in and day out, a warm friendship forms between them. 
Just as their friendship is starting to develop into more, Miriam's past comes calling.  The exposure of her secrets could mean the end of Miriam's new life and love.  What will Gideon say when he hears the truth?  Will there be anything left of their friendship or will both of them walk away with shattered hearts?

Healing Hearts by Sarah M. Eden stars one of the minor characters from its predecessor, The Sheriffs of Savage Wells.  Gideon and Miriam are less colorful leads than Cade and Paisley, but they're no less likable.  Both are sympathetic, selfless people who deserve a happy ending.  Their romance is sweet and slow-building but swoony all the same.  Although they're not as fiery as Cade and Paisley, there's still plenty of tension and playful banter flying between them to keep things interesting.  Like its predecessor, Healing Hearts is clean, fun, upbeat, and entertaining.  I found it just as enjoyable—maybe even a little more so—than The Sheriffs of Savage Wells.  If you like light, funny historical romance, you can't go wrong with this series.  It really is a satisfying, swoony delight.

(Readalikes:  The Sheriffs of Savage Wells by Sarah M. Eden, as well as other proper romances by the same author)

Grade:

If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for mild violence

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of Healing Hearts from the generous folks at Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

1 comment:

  1. Eden's such a good author. I really enjoy her books.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin